We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Glencairn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay in Cork for one night, but lucky for us - it was at the Glencairn Bed & Breakfast. Upon our arrival at this lovely little cottage-style house, we found a note taped to the door for us, with instructions on how to access our room, plus very detailed information on internet usage, restaurants in the area and breakfast in the am.
When we booked, we snagged the last room available, and were warned by John that it was quite small. However, we were only expecting to sleep in the room, so we were not concerned. The room was, indeed, tiny, but we loved it! It barely fit the two twin beds, but the space was so well utilized that it didn't bother us. We did end up leaving our suitcases in the car, but there would have been room under the beds for our bags, if necessary. The beds/linens were incredibly comfortable and the wifi internet access was reliable and fast.
Breakfast in the morning was also lovely. The sunroom is a beautiful setting, with views of the garden, and opera music playing. The hosts, John and Helen, were also really lovely and conversational, introducing all the guests to one another, and suggesting sites and towns to visit in the area.
We ended our stay with a wander in Helen's garden - the perfect ending to our short stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
96
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lovely home, lovely gardens, lovely hosts. & thank goodness because getting there by public transport after a12hr trip was an adventure. Somehow the bus driver "forgot" that I'd asked to be dropped at a certain spot. & if you think that might have been a one off.... Guess what? It happened again the next day, so... Beware the Cork bus service!
How relieved was I when John offered to drop me at the airport (on his way to a meeting).
Strongly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: You can hear floor movement in the room above, but only for a few minutes in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalunya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The first thing you see when arriving at this house is the magnificent garden that surrounds you and welcomes you. A house full of music (in every possible aspect) and with very nice owners, Helen & John, who made us feel like we were in our own house. The room was perfect even in the smallest detail. The fact that the house was on the outskirts of Cork wasn't a problem, actually it proved helpful: less noise and closer to some interesting spots in the Cork sorroundings. We enjoyed a lot the stay and we'll sure be back as soon as we can. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Glencairn B&B is a picturesque and unique home with exceptional hosts. John and Helen weren't home when we arrived, but there was a personal note waiting for us on the door. Our room has been upgraded from the one we had booked and was incredibly welcoming, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Every bit of space has been utilized in creative ways. John and Helen were very friendly, provided excellent recommendations for places to visit, and made us feel like we were old friends by inviting us to enjoy their beautiful garden while they were out and about. This B&B was by far my favorite B&B in Ireland. I would recommend a stay here to anyone visiting Cork and Cobh. Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were only able to stay one night due to our schedule, but we really enjoyed staying at this Bed and Breakfast. The host staff was very friendly, offering us wine and cheese that they had set for themselves when we showed up. They listened to our plans, made excellent recommendations based on them as to where and what we should do to make our visit to Cork a fun one.

The B&B is outside of the city which is a slight downside, but at the same time it's in between the city and the ferry over to Cobh, so we were able to do both in a short amount of time. Once again, a short time for both cities is not ideal, but that's what we allotted. We recommend staying here and would again when we hopefully set aside more time for a visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Since John & Helen were on holidays we were welcomed by their daughter Fiona, who gave us a warm welcome and a wonderful time in Cork. Our room was really cosy and the bathroom was very clean and beautiful.
Breakfast was delicious too.
We really had a lovely stay here! Thanks again Fiona!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

John and Helen were so kind and it was truly a pleasure to stay with them. They were so kind they made you feel so welcome like you were an old friend coming to stay with them. John and Helen's house was beautiful and the garden was amazing. It was so nice to sit outside on the patio and be surrounded by such beautiful scenery and such wonderful company. John was an excellent cook and was also very helpful with planning our days. He suggested things that we would have never done without his advice and we really appreciated it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn Hotel Cork
Glencairn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.