We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't actually get to see the Observatory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory

CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory
Castle Road, | Blackrock Village, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 435 7917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 187 things to do in Cork
Attraction details
Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You don't actually get to see the Observatory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful exhibition, with great audio visuals and interactive displays for all ages. There's a fun video game at the end where you help save the Earth from a Comet.
We walked past the marine biology exhibition, not realising that the photographs of plankton along the walls inside and outside the building, were it - the exhibition we were looking for. It wasn't featured properly.
We found ourselves in the restaurant saying "Is that it?". We expected to see the observatory, the castle, etc. The attraction is housed in a few rooms that could be anywhere.
It is very difficult to find - even using satnav, as it is in a residential area. Signposts in the area are tiny, brown, and very easy to miss.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Aileen,

Thanks very much for visiting us at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory and we’re sorry that you were left wanting more from your experience.

As we are a full time research facility we unfortunately cannot allow public access to the Observatory. To compensate we run free nights throughout the year to give people the chance to use telescopes in our courtyard and enjoy guided stargazing. We’re also coming close to launching a new exhibit called TARA which will give the public remote access to a telescope in California also allowing you to take pictures of the night sky there.

Thanks for your feedback and if you would like to visit again to experience the castle tour and TARA please do get in touch through info@bco.ie

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    16
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Entertaining Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were amazed at how castle looked from the outside.
On going in there is plenty of scientific things to keep you entertained.
We had an amazing and funny guide which was fun and made the visit seem a wee bit different.
An interactive game at the end will keep bairns and adults happy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Daibhidh,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your visit here. We’re really glad that you enjoyed the tour especially as it’s one of our favourites also.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This very pretty castle is very well run and houses an interactive exhibition about the solar system and life on earth - this kept our children entertained for about 30/40 minutes on a rainy day - and is followed by a tour of the castle. Otherwise, there is a really lovely courtyard cafe on site which serves high quality food and drinks (albeit a little pricey). This is a really lovely place to spend a few hours and we would recommend this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Shimlion,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit.

We hope you can visit again at one of our free monthly open evenings called First Fridays at the Castle. Included in these nights are four half-hour hands-on family friendly workshops in MakeSpace and weather dependent stargazing in our courtyard. You can find all info on our various activities under the events section of our website.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm surprised to see the other negative reviews. We have two kids, 7 and 9 years and we all enjoyed spending a good couple of hours here recently. Really friendly and knowledgeable staff and an interesting exhibition in a great location. Good stuff!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Cheers Gabrielle – you’ve put a smile on our faces with this lovely review. We hope youyou’re your family can visit again to enjoy our free monthly open evenings called First Fridays at the Castle.

Included in these nights are hands-on family friendly workshops in MakeSpace, weather dependent stargazing in our courtyard, vary info in our science centre and an astronomy led lecture at 20:00.

You can find all info on our various activities under the events section of our website.
All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I don't care about "Outer Space"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the outside this looks like an amazing castle, but after paying to get in I was disappointing to see it was basically a permanent exhibition about outer space, and seemed to be designed for school tours of teenagers. I feel that if you are an adult they should warn you at the door that this isin't really a tourist attraction per se. I see online now that it is somehow associated with Cork Institute of Technology.

You would will get more bang for your buck by having a coffee at the Restaurant outside, that appears to be run by a different company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frontiergentleman,

It is our policy to make everyone aware on entering at the reception desk that we offer an interactive science experience rather than a castle one. We apologise that this appears to have not happened in your case.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory also viewed

Cork, County Cork
 

Been to CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.