We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Currans Restaurant

Currans Restaurant
5 Adelaide St, Cork, Ireland
021 4223954
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 457 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Barbecue, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

we found this place by accident, it is hidden away in a small side street and from the outside looks like a small bistro type restaurant, but it is a bit of a tardis, a lot bigger inside very spacious and airy. we visited for an evening meal with our 3 children. the menu was very good, with plenty of options on the children's menu too. the waitress was very nice, patiently and pleasantly answering many queries from our little ones. we ordered mains and were surprised and delighted to receive complimentary mini soup starters which were delicious. all 5 meals were fantastic, wine was delicious. we forced ourselves to have dessert which really were devine. and the bill was the most surprising part of all, we would expect to pay a similar amount for a decent lunch never mind an evening meal with wine.
i would highly recommend this restaurant and we will certainly return here next time we go to Cork.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    9
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went to currans yesterday evening with three others for an early meal. We had a groupon voucher and sometimes there is different treatment when a voucher is mentioned. However not so in currans, our waiter was excellent and even surprised us with a complementary soup taster. Spacious, airy and the food was great. Will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never fails to satisfy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Been going to Currans for the best part of 10 years. Lunches, dinners and BBQs they never fail to provide professional service, great food and pleasant atmosphere. Worked in the nearby hospital and always recommend it to relatives when they need a nice cup of tea or a good meal. The rooftop is a little gem during the summer great to get out of the office for the break!! Highly recommend the chicken wrap yum!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The food and service we received cannot be faulted. We both had chicken salads for lunch which were delicious. The decor and atmosphere were great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and above all excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We visited currans restaurant on sat night the 12th of July and yet again the food was excellent. The staff are second to none especially kaisa who was our waitress and also Robert who is always so helpful and courteous. These staff really set this restaurant apart.Well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currans Restaurant also viewed

Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Currans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Currans Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.