We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Shean Lower, Blarney 021, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Blarney B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Lovely B&B - one word we can't escape when describing it is "comfortable" - from the bed to the feeling in the house, everything was great and we felt right at home. This was the first B&B we stayed in and it certainly set a high standard. Pat and Regina were both lovely and were welcoming; suggestions for places to go, pubs to try and tips for things to see. They even went out of their way to find us another B&B for an extra night as they were (sadly for us) fully booked. One word of warning though - Pat's amateur weatherman skills leave a lot to be desired...he assured us of a sunny day as we left and it rained non-stop!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We visited the White House after a recommendation from Pat & Hilary in the "Cliff House" Tramore. I guess you could say we were going with high expectations after a great stay in Tramore and since the lady of the house recommended The White House, it must be just as good! This was our last stay in Ireland and sadly, was only a one nighter.

The hosts were both friendly and chatty, willing to help and recommend places to eat and visit during our stay. We visted the Woolen Mills and the Castle, which was a great experience. My own room had a great view of Blarney Castle, was nice and comfy. The house was nicely laid out, spacious and was relatively quiet which was great. Plenty of guests to sit with and talk about their experiences in Ireland - we met people who were visiting locations we stopped in already so it was great swapping recommendations!

The White House was a very warm and professionally run B&B. The hosts were great, the rooms were great and breakfast was divine! We slept soundly and had a later breakfast then usual, so we could prepare ourselves for the drive back to Dublin Airport where we were due to fly out.

The White House is one of the good few B&Bs in Ireland I will be recommending to friends and family. The last few nights in Ireland were great and stopping off in The White House as our final trip made it all the better.

An excellent recommendation, a great stay and I cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our family stayed one night with Pat and Regina. They have a top notch Bed and Breakast. The Breakast was very delicious and our rooms were elegant and comfortable. We were able to walk to the village from the Bed and Breakfast which was very convenient. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tastytravels4me
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We wete totally lost in Cork with no place to stay when I called the Whithe House. Pat had a last minute cancellation, so we got lucky! he gave me directions step by step on how to get out of Cork, and over to his house. It took about 10 minutes, and was quite simple given his accurate instructons.(there are no street sights ANYWHERE in Cork, and very few in Blarney.

The room was great. When Pat greeted us, he made us feel welcome right away, showed us our room, bathroom, and our castle, right outside our bedroom window. Since we arrived late, not many restaurants were open, but he sent us to a fabulous Thai restrauant within walking distance, (Everything is within walking distance from the white house.) Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I had the salmon and egg omelet, and my husband had pancakes with kiwi, banana and strawberries.

I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Pat and Regina for sharing your wonderful home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

A great place to stay in Blarney. Even if the hosts (Pat and Regina) were not warm and friendly (which they are) and the B&B was not in such a great location for visiting the Blarney Castle (which it is), it would be worth staying here for the great breakfast! We stayed two nights here and found it to be a wonderful B&B, set back from the road, with room for parking and a spotlessly clean and comfortable room. The hosts were a delightful couple and could not have been more accommodating and gracious, even volunteering to pick up our laundry at the local cleaners when we were not going to be back in time from a side trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Spent two nights at the White House B & B last week and give "thumbs up"to previous reviewers for convincing me to stay here. Absolutely spotless accomodations in a great location with a fantastic cooked to order breakfast . The beds were very comfortable , nice shower with plenty of hot water, accomodating hosts and a room that was very quiet although they were fully booked... couldn't ask for more. Definitely worth bookmarking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Regina & Pat have a great B&B for exploring Blarney and Cork. We landed a triple room with a gorgeous front view- you could see Blarney Castle and the town. Breakfast was excellent. It is a quick walk to the Blarney Woolen Mills superstore and Blarney Castle.

The only negative, which is relatively superficial, is that of all our B&B's, this was the most dated. The linens, decor, pillows and bathroom could stand to be updated (We were in a very pink room). They were not uncomfortable or unlivable by any means... I am just noting it as a contrast to our other B&B stays.

Also- she has free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shean Lower, Blarney 021, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the doorstep of this well heated luxurious family home there is a spectacular view of the famous Blarney Castle. Your Hosts Pat & Regina Coughlan who will guarantee you the warmest of welcomes and a truly enjoyable stay. The house is elevated on prize winning gardens with private parking. Five minutes walk into Blarney Village where there is plenty of shops, restaurants, pubs, music and the famous Blarney Stone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.