We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The White House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Shean Lower, Blarney 021, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our stay at The White House was all too brief. Our hosts, Pat and Regina, were welcoming, engaging and always helpful. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and roomy. The "Full Irish" breakfast was outstanding! Pat also makes a wonderful omelet upon request. The White House is withing easy walking distance of Blarney's major attractions, pubs and restaurants. We found our st at the B&B to be extremely restful and refreshing. PS - ask Pat to see his hat!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
139
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My son and I stayed in the White House B&B last week, and had just a wonderful time. The breakfast portion of the day is the best anywhere, the location is marvelous (walking distance to Blarney Castle, Blarney woolen Mils, an Pubs). The rooms are wonderful as well with very comfortable beds, and the nicest towels I have ever had at any hotel. What makes the place great though are Pat and Regina. Example - I needed to find an ATM, and it was raining, Pat found out, got in his car and went to find me to keep me dry, and to help me find that ATM.

Being this good keeps the place humming with activity, and the other guests were very enjoyable to be around, and we saw them elsewhere in Blarney, and had much in common.

Obviously we highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Cork or Blarney, it is very close to Cork.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor immediately to the left has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Cold wet and miserable arrival in April, but the welcome was just the opposite.
Pat and Regina are wonderful hosts, and notice all the little things which help to make guests feel comfortable and at ease.
The rooms are first class and the breakfasts well and truly up with the Best.
We are an elderly couple, and did not wish to drive into Cork with parking hassles etc. and Pat soon had us organised with bus routes, timetables and directions for a most enjoyable day in the City. Blarney Castle and the village is within walking distance for evening meals etc.
Thanks Pat and Regina for a great stay even against the inclement weather. John & Jenny W. Australia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, great location, wonderful rooms, amazing breakfast! Our hosts were absolutely wonderful! 5 minute walk to town, 5 min drive to blarney castle! We really enjoyed ourselves! I would definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is the perfect bed and breakfast stay in Blarney. It has excellent location to the castle and other sites, excellent value, excellent accommodations and excellent breakfast. Pat was a terrific host. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was in Ireland for 10 days with my mum -- we stayed in a hostel and three B&Bs and The White House was by far our best experience. The owners, Pat and Regina, are so lovely, welcoming, kind, and informative. Rooms are beautiful, with amazingly comfortable beds, pretty en-suites and new TVs. Breakfast is fantastic, lots of choices -- I particularly liked their pancakes. And it's a great value -- I paid more for a B&B in Dingle which definitely wasn't as nice. My mum and I weren't exactly sure what to do in Blarney except see the castle and kiss the stone, and Pat gave us lots of ideas for activities which we enjoyed so much. It is a great location -- easy to drive to Cork city or Cobh or to walk around Blarney itself. I would definitely stay at The White House again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We - an elderly couple from Germany - spent for four nights in the White House Blarney, which we had picked out from the Internet. It was a wonderful and most pleasant stay! On first glimpse we were a bit sceptical as to the seemingly endless traffic in front of the accomodation, but this problem had been acknowledged and solved by the wonderful hosts Pat and Regina long ago by absolutely sound-proof windows. It was our first experience with Irish hospitality. We enjoyed it very much. As already written in other comments: Nothing but positives for this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shean Lower, Blarney 021, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the doorstep of this well heated luxurious family home there is a spectacular view of the famous Blarney Castle. Your Hosts Pat & Regina Coughlan who will guarantee you the warmest of welcomes and a truly enjoyable stay. The house is elevated on prize winning gardens with private parking. Five minutes walk into Blarney Village where there is plenty of shops, restaurants, pubs, music and the famous Blarney Stone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.