We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blarney Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blarney Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Blarney Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Blarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blarney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food and Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at The Blarney Castle Hotel on two occasions during our stay in Ireland and both times we enjoyed the meal and great Entertainment. The staff are very friendly and go out of there way to make you time enjoyable. We would highly recommend. Jenny & Ross from Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience and also the entertainment. With kind regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    57
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
62
76
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochelle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blarney Castle Hotel in October. The hotel is a short walk away from Blarney Castle. It is also within walking distance of other pubs and shops. In reality you do not need to leave the hotel for a great pub. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and they were both delicious. We went to another pubs in Blarney, but we couldn't resist the traditional music being played at the Blarney Castle Hotel that night. Many locals were in the pub and the traditional music was amazing. Many people showed up to play. After a little bit of music, people started dancing. The atmosphere was unforgettable. The staff was great, and the locals were friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are delighted that you choose Blarney Castle Hotel for your stay while in Blarney. We have excellent staff here who enjoy talking to guests and enhancing their stay with us here. Our traditional Irish Music which is every Tuesday here is an excellent display of real irish music and dance. Margaret McCarthy who does the irish dancing here is really fantastic and has danced and played the fiddle both here and abroad at may events. I thank you so much for your comments and hope to see you all again. With kind regards Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blarney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights.Room was very comfortable and clean with a good shower,bottled water in room.Great food in bar downstairs.Only complaint was on second night there was a party with D.J that went on till 2a.m and was very noisy.Sounded great if you wanted a night out! but not if you just wanted some sleep,liked this place overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here with 2 other friends . The guest bedrooms were spacious clean and very well furnished. The food was definately the best we had to date in Blarney . We both had a Country Casserole Dish which was 10/10. The service was great. We stayed on for the entertainment which was sø great . The people sitting next to us were so friendly . Breakfast was sø tasty and what a great menu on offer. We will visit again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us with dinner and also the excellent entertainment we have on offer every Tuesday evening from 9.30pm onwards. We look forward to you visiting us again. With kind regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am the sister of Susan who had the misfortune to have her bag nabbed in Dublin. I just have to say what a grand welcome we recieved from the hosts at this hotel. We were served scones (the best I have ever eaten) by Marie who baked them. The rooms were gorgeous.
Our bags were taken to our rooms and we really felt like we were home.
If anyone wants to know how great this hotel is they only have to read this review!
Thankyou again, I will never forget how wonderful the Irish folks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Susan, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were only too delighted to have you all stay with us after your unfortunate events that happened to you. It is important to look after all guests so that they have good memories of their holidays and hopefully Blarney made that up for you. Thank you for choosing to stay with ourselves and look forward to seeing you all again please God. With kind regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My three companions and I had an unfortunate experience in Dublin recently but the minute we arrived at the Blarney Castle Hotel we were embraced in warmth and hospitality. Our rooms were absolutely perfect and chef Marie's freshly baked scones were out of this world! We can't thank Una and Ian enough for extending their wonderful Irish welcome. We will definately make a return visit!

Susan Little, Clearwater, Florida

Room Tip: You can enjoy the fragrant flower filled window boxes in the rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were just staying the night and to be charged 110 Euros for myself and my 14 year old son was a bit much, however it was getting late and we were tired and hungry. A young man helped us up the stairs with our bags - no lift and I had sore knees from climbing mountains. The room was big, I had a double and my son the single, and the bathroom was old but done up with all the mod cons and I appreciated the bath - although getting out was another issue, the bar on the wall didn't look sturdy. I was told check was 11am and later after we checked out found out it was 12 noon, that extra hour would have been better for us. Breakfast was nice, a good variety although what I wanted wasn't available, but could only have one glass of juice. We had dinner at the hotel which was average priced very nice, the waitresses were very busy talking with each other instead of attending to us, the lounge was old-fashioned and the seats stained and dirty, it needs some refurbishment. There was entertainment that night but old-fashioned Barry Manilow / John Denver style, so we went to bed, unfortunately we could hear the music plainly upstairs til midnight, but from a distance having a bath it was ok. I stayed in 8 B&Bs / Hotels around Ireland and this was the dearest, and as Cork is my home city I felt let down. ps. I was at the back/side and my view was a roof top and scaffolding, their were workmen next to me so I couldn't open the curtains.

Room Tip: beware - no lift and there's 2 floors I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Vivienne, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Any person over the age of 12 is considered full price which unfortunately is standard practice in Ireland. We do not have a lift in the hotel and there is always help nearby to assist guests with luggage. Check out is always at 12 noon and can be later should a guest wish for same. We serve breakfast daily till 11.30am and offers an excellent choice for guests and customers alike. We recently got new carpet and seating which most people like which was a considerable investment. Blarney Castle Hotel is a old world hotel with lots of charm. On the night there was entertainment by John Spillane who is a well known singer in Cork and is popular with people. He usually plays quite a varied amount of songs to suit everyone taste and finishes about 11.30pm. There is building work at present ( and almost finished) who are completing work adjacent to us. Many thanks for your comments. Regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blarney Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Castle Hotel

Address: The Square, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarney Castle Hotel was established in 1837 and is still run by the Forrest Family. Blarney Castle Hotel is ideally located on the village square of the picturesque village. We offer excellent guest accommodation. Our restaurant The Lemon Tree Restaurant is opened daily from 7.30 Am till 9.30Pm daily, 7 days a week. Breakfast is served to guests and is also opened to the public. We offer a superior breakfast in the area all of which is cooked to order with a simply delicious choice. All of our produce is sourced locally and we pride ourselves in offering good value for money on our excellent quality of food. Lunch is served daily both in the Main Bar and The Lemon Tree Restaurant from 12 noon onwards till 9.30Pm daily. Our main bar is known locally as "Johnny's" is an unspoilt bar in the village and offers an excellent selection of beers, wines and ales. We have Traditional Music playing every Tuesday from 9.30Pm. On Wednesday(Summer Months only) at 8pm we also have Set Dancing together with Margaret Mccarthy and Music to entertain our guests and locals alike. We also have music on Saturday and Sunday. We also have a function room called the "Killowen Room" which can cater for small parties and family occasions. Free wifi accessibility throughout the hotel. Blarney Castle Hotel continues to be the focal point in Blarney for the locals and also with guests passing through to visit the Blarney Castle or to visit the Blarney Woollen Mills . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blarney Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blarney Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.