We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was pretty good but the dessert was STELLAR!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lemon Tree Restaurant

The Lemon Tree Restaurant
Blarney Castle Hotel, Village Green, | Blarney, Co.Cork, Blarney, Ireland
353214385116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 restaurants in Blarney
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lemon Tree Restaurant is part of the Blarney Castle Hotel and is ideally located on the village green of Blarney. It opens daily from 7.30am till 11am for delicious home made breakfast with an excellent choice. If you are looking for a good breakfast- look no further as here it is. Lunch is served from 12 noon daily till 4.00pm and Bar Food is available all day till 9.30pm seven days a week. We have daily specials for Lunch and also Evening Specials. All of our produce are sourced locally where possible and we pride ourselves in offering value for money and good food. We cater for casual dining with friends, lunch, dinner, bar food, small parties, family occasions and other functions.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food was pretty good but the dessert was STELLAR!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Lemon Tree is a clean, quiet nice restaurant in the village (attached to the Blarney Castle Hotel). Our server, Maeve, was a peach. We had meals that were on the good side of average but thought we had died and went to heaven when we had the rice pudding with berry compote for dessert. I NEVER get two desserts but I got two that night.

The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest, I thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. All of our meals are freshly made here on the premises and we aim to please our customers. Our rice pudding which is a popular favourite with customers. Many thanks again for your comments. With kind regards

Una Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    33
    22
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Always good staff very efficient,
Food great.Decor good too
Always a pleasure to visit.
It's a sign of a great place when it always busy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great food close to castle entrance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were part of a tour group and found few food options at blarney castle, but just across the street from the castle park entrance is the Lemon Tree. A delightful little restaurant with great food and great service. Good menu selections as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for choosing to dine at "The Lemon Tree Restaurant" in Blarney while visiting the castle. Our chefs prefer excellent lunch specials from 12 noon daily till 5pm and also evening specials daily also till last order of aprox 9.30pm. We are delighted to welcome guests and that they enjoy their stay with experience with us and tell others of their experience with us. Our chefs pride themselves in offering good quality local produce to all customers. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and warm service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the food. It exceeded expectations. We both had fish and pudding and were impressed by quality and standard. Receptionist/waitress was very warm and friendly. She deserves a pay rise!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review of your recent dining experience. We take great pride in offering good local produce from our local suppliers and delighted to serve our customers excellent quality food and will pass on the message to the reception. I might let out the bit about the pay rise!!. With kind regards Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Okay restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The steaks were okay but the starters were overpriced and average. It was dated and we would not go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Customer. I thank you for your comments and note same. We pride ourselves in offering good food which is all sourced locally and can cost a little more but is fully traceable and grown in Ireland. . Our starters usually are from 4.95 Euros upwards to a maximum of 8.95 Euros which is fair and consistent prices to offer guests. We recently refurnished our restaurant which most people are delighted with. As Abraham Lincoln once said " You can please some of the people some of the time all of the people some of the time some of the people all of the time but you can never please all of the people all of the time.”. Regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Blarney, County Cork
 

Been to The Lemon Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lemon Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.