We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Ennis, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weekend perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Temple gate hotel -what a treat - bedrooms so comfy!!!! Duck down duvet, dressing gowns etc.
Bar/bar food - staff were excellent even though they were extremely busy - they were good craic.
Crock of Mussels -mmmmmmmmm delicious, chicken lovely and tender..
Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. The night porter had probably the busier job of he weekend yet he was pretty much unfazed -well done staff f Temple Gate Hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Karen D,
Thank you for your glowing feedback following your recent stay with us. In particular your comments on staff throughout the various departments are great testament to the level of service we hope we continuously offer to our guests. I appreciate that my thoughts regarding the food served in Preachers Pub are strongly biased but I do believe it is probably the best bar food in the region! However I am delighted that this was endorsed with the award, judged by neutral observers, “Best Place to Eat in Clare”. And I agree the mussels are truly scrumptious!
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    154
    49
    40
    15
See reviews for
101
196
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arriving in Ennis not having booked anywhere to stay we stumbled across the Temple Gate hotel and were able to book a room at a reasonable price. It was a change from the B & B's we had been staying in with minimalist decor. The hotel has a luxurious feel with very comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Breakfast was included and was adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Threekiwis,
Thank you for taking the time to send feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently completed a refurbishment of the hotel and thank you for your positive comments and acknowledgement of our new look! Your testimonial will inform future guests what to expect when visiting the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had Sunday dinner at the temple gate hotel on Sunday 21st October. The service and food was excellent and well presented.I had the pleasure of meeting the Manager/Owner John Madden and i was delighted he remembered me from my previous visit which was almost 6 months ago. The staff are very pleasant in the bar However i was unable to find an ATM machine in the hotel,and when i asked for cash back on my card, i was told by staff they dont give cash back on lazer card,but i was told go to the ulster bank pass machine across the road.
Perhaps it would be idea to get ATM machine installed in the Foyer.

Room Tip: They dont have a Atm machine in the hotel and reception/bar staff dont give me cash back on laser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Martin M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. Legends Restaurant has received the AA Rosette, awarded in recognition of fine cuisine and service, each year since the hotel opened in 1996 and your comments are a welcome endorsement to this award. I have shared you comments with John Madden and hotel staff of which they graciously receive. It is unfortunate that you were inconvenienced by an ATM not being on the premises. Regrettably due to the close proximity of Ulster Bank, as you have noted, we do not have any plans to install a ATM machine of which I hope you will understand.
I hope you will have the opportunity to dine with us once again in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhan Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Ennis. Straight off the motorway and youre there.
Stayed on the 19th and 20th of October 2012.
Staff friendly and smiling. Parking on site right in front of the Hotel and that was it for the weekend didn't need to use the car again.

Bad points
The food prices in comparison to other pubs and resteraunts in the area is a bit expensive.
The WIFI password could be given to guests on arrival..

Overall the experience was excellent and the library is the perfect place to chill either in the afternoon or for a late drink.
Will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room over the courtyard and noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Robbie G,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It means so much to us to hear guest feedback, whether it is positive or negative as in this way we can strive for continuous improvement and or address any issue if they arise. In relation to the “positive” we are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and more importantly that you wish to return! The staff are very appreciative of your kind comments.
In relation to the “bad” our food prices are in line with similar eateries in the area and we feel we offer great value for money. Legends is an AA Rosette award winning restaurant and Preachers Pub has been deemed “Best Place to Eat in Clare”. I note your comment regarding the WiFi to be given to guests on arrival which is currently just given on request. In future we hope to document the access code in the Guest Directory in bedrooms.
Once again I am delighted to read that you will return again and believe this is an wonderful endorsement following your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I visited this hotel for the first time in march for my cousins wedding and from the minute we entered the hotel i was impressed with the place the great hall is amazing the staff were were very accommodating no matter what we asked for we got. also there was a cake for a family birthday which we brought along and the manager brought it out in great time. a wonderful day and night was had by all. thank you to all the staff in the temple gate hotel for a fantastic stay and i shall be back. And not to forget the very comfortable rooms. Guys and Girls you all do a brilliant job and keep up the hard work

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear bobby-joe88,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us when you attended your cousin’s wedding. The Great Hall in the hotel is a unique venue for weddings as it was once the location of a church. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the food and the service delivered by the staff during you stay.
We look forward to welcoming on a return visit in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had my sisters hen night on Oct 6th and we stayed in Temple gate 24 of us. We had a fantastic experience here, hotel is well located in the centre of Ennis.Rooms are lovely Staff are brillant everyone was so friendly and helpful. We had evenig meal which was divine and then we did a cocktail making class which was mighty fun. Highly recommend the hotel we had a brill weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear glancork.
It was a pleasure to read your very favourable review of Temple Gate Hotel following on from your recent stay. The hotels centre of town location makes it an ideal venue when visiting Ennis. We provide complimentary guest car parking and its central location ensure guests avoid spending money on taxis and of course parking. Thank you also for your very kind comments regarding our staff and “divine” food, this means a lot to all on the team. We are delighted you enjoyed the cocktail making class and hope you enjoyed sampling the results!
We hope to see you and the ladies soon again!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our group of 4 were so well treatedby a fabulous Italian waiter on Tuesday night 9th October this year. The food was to die for and the service and value were beyond words. An excellent night was had by all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Moke
Thank you for your favorable comments on the food, service and value following your recent visit to Legends Restaurant. I have shared your comments with both Antonio and his team in the restaurant and the Chef and his team in the kitchen. Your feeback is a wonderful endorsement to the awards bestowed on Legends over many years.
We hope you will have an opportunity in the near future to dine once again in Legends Restaurant.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.