We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel will use again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Ennis, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corofin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel will use again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I have used the Temple Gate several times and found it be a great hotel, very central location for Ennis and surrounding areas. All staff were very friendly and service is always good. Food in both the bar and hotel is excellent and function room is beautiful. Would very much recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. Your return visits are greatly appreciated and are testament to the level of service we endeavour to offer all guests visiting Temple Gate Hotel. Your comments have been graciously received by the team here. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    154
    49
    40
    15
See reviews for
100
195
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a CIE Tour group. The room was average size with a nice bathroom with bathtub. Our room was quiet and had both a double and single bed. There was a hairdryer in the room but no safe. There was free Wifi but we could not get a signal in our room and had to go to the lobby to log on. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinner (part of our tour). No safe in room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. The hotel is a family owned and managed hotel and prides itself on food and service. Guest feedback is greatly appreciated and further testament to awards bestowed on the hotel. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit us once again at Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

After reading some of the comments, we were a little wary of the standards of this hotel. However, we have just returned from a fabulous stay in this very well run hotel. We also stayed in a suite and although the furniture is a little tired, the room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were amazing, from the front desk who were extremely helpful, to the bar staff who could not do enough for us. The Great Hall was a stunning venue for a wedding and we would definitely return for another stay at this well located Hotel. Thank you to all the Management and Staff, especially Una, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your comment referring to the Great Hall as a “stunning wedding venue” is graciously appreciated. The hotel rests on the site of a 19th century convent of mercy and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the hotel. The history of the hotel is most evident in the Great Hall. Its stained glass windows, vaulted ceilings and oak beams combine to create the most original wedding venue in this region.
We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel, the staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The room was lovely, fresh, clean, and very comfortable, this hotel is value for money, it's a beautiful hotel(former convent) in a perfect location, the shops and pubs and other places of interest were a stones throw away. The breakfast was excellant! good variety of choices, would reccomend the full clare breakfast. The food in Preachers pub was great, the pub staff were very attentive and friendly. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
We were delighted to read your positive review following your recent stay. As you noted the hotel has a fascinating history and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the hotel. Your comments on food and service are testament to awards bestowed on the hotel including an AA Rosette and “Best Place to Eat in Clare” Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback.
We look to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We always stay at Temple Gate Hotel, each year when we visit our son in Ennis. The accommodation is spotless, the staff are always very helpful and the food in the restaurant stunning. The position is very good, close to the shops and the hotel is an ideal base to explore all the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the museum side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the hotel. I have shared your comments with staff and they are truly grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back once again during you next visit to meet with your son in Ennis!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Clean & comfortable. Close to city center, walking distance. Free WiFi in main lobby area - not in rooms. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, the hotel is ideally located within 2 minutes walk from Ennis town centre and provides complimentary guest car parking. Wi-Fi, in addition to all public areas, is also available on two bedroom floors.
We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Yuck! Not certain why this hotel gets such high marks. I do wonder if there is another Temple Gate Hotel. We initially booked a standard double. Room was very small, had a full size bed, dirty carpets and old bathroom. After nearly paying double for the best room - a junior suite - we still were treat to a very outdated room. Wallpaper was peeling, tiles lost grout in the bathroom, coverlet and drapes looked ancient, beaten up furniture, giant cobwebs. Just overall dark, dingy and dated. Did I also mention that the free wifi is spotty at best! The only place to get it is in the lobby.

Thank goodness we are only staying one night before our flight back leaving from SNN. Temple Gate hotel is leaving very bad last impression on an otherwise amazing trip. I have heard the hotel has been renovated, unless our room was the only one not competed. I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface.
The hotel underwent extensive refurbishment in 2008, results which you would have viewed on the ground floor. While many bedrooms also underwent refurbishment some bedrooms are awaiting the next phase of refurbishment. Unfortunately for this reason it is possible the entire hotel did not meet with your expectations. I have passed your comments on to our Accommodation Manager.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity in future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards,
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.