We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ground to your Saves list
The Old Ground
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the weekend, very nice staff at reception on arrival gave us directions to the room. Room looked Newley decorated all very clean with huge bed. Bathroom very clean and a lovely big shower and bath. Had food in the Town Hall Cafe on the Friday night steak was very nice cooked to perfection. The only down point I would have about the stay would be the full Irish breakfast it was unfortunately not like you would expect for a 4 star hotel more care when cooking and a tad better quality ingredients and would be perfect. Other than that was a fantastic stay and will be back and would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    270
    63
    36
    21
See reviews for
151
408
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend in this hotel and from start to finish of our stay we were always greeted warmly by the very friendly staff. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel with its old world charm and great character. We dined in the Town hall restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent meal with great choice on the menu surrounded by a very relaxed and intimate atmosphere. Full marks to Mary in the restaurant who really is a great asset to the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety and our bedroom was very clean and luxurious. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and we will most definitely return.

Cathy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonhole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Walking into the old hotel my husband and I knew that this experience would be memorable. The staff welcomed us with smiles, a lovely comfortable room and an invitation for tea beside the lobby fireplace. Our room was spacious, quiet and deliciously tactile, from the linens and towels to the chairs and window seat. The good bedside lights made for perfect reading and a hot shower topped off a nicely appointed room. Breakfast was beautifully served, hot and delicious in the dining room, with linens and crystal. And then the pub awaited us just down the hall. The Poet's Corner has seating in nooks with library style wood and antiques, lunches are excellent and served quickly and pleasantly, and in the evening it is lively, bustling and music filled....some people even played the Irish spoons for us over a brimming Guinness....it just doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night's and didnt want to leave! We had one evening meal with our package and what a meal! So tasty and a big portion. We ate in the bar on the 2nd night and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have come across. The room was huge and comfortable. The hotel is in a perfect location. Cant wait to go back again soon. Thanks old ground hotel for a super weekend :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We flew into Shannon to begin our 18 day drive around Ireland. A quick drive to Ennis to the hotel. We were so happy that we picked this property from our research. It was clean organized, hot showers, large comfy bed in the center of everything. Close to the Burren, Cliffs of Moher and all over the western coast. We ate 3 out of 4 nights in the pub. The Poets Corner pub was grand the servers lovely and the food great tasting and looking good. Local music and people made the pub a great end to exploring. One night we began talking to a nice young couple from Cobh and listen to music and a story teller then conversed and enjoyed pints top 4 a.m. A better intro to my greats home could not of been hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Old Ground Hotel Ennis for a three night stay on the 11th November, to be honest I hadnt heard of the hotel before but when I had it booked anyone that I mentioned it to raved about the place and they were right. The hotel is perfectly located right in the middle of the town, we had a lovely room, bed so comfortable, modern bathroom and the hotel had noted that it was our wedding anniversary and had put a fruit basket with a lovely note on arrival. Breakfast was excellent each morning, great selection of cereals, fruit, youghurt, scones & pastries and you also have the cooked breakfast from the kitchen. We ate in the the poets corner one evening and had lunch there another day both were really nice, bar has a nice atmosphere and was very busy. We had one dinner included and we had this on our final night in the Townhall restaurant - it was outstanding. The one thing I have to mention was the staff, from the first moment we arrived we received a warm welcome from reception, staff in all areas, bar, restaurant & accommodation were all so warm friendly and helpful with any request, the Old Ground Hotel really have a wonderful team. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is the perfect location for touring around Clare.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My partner and I stay here last week. We were in room 222. It was beautiful. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spotless and lovely and warm. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Meals in the bar were great and so was the atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.