We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impression of Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ground to your Saves list
The Old Ground
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
New Glasgow, Canada
2 reviews
“Impression of Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first day arriving in Ireland for a tour started at "The Old Ground Hotel". The check-in was easy, informative staff, room was very nice. We enjoyed the Pub that was attached, and had our first Irish coffee. The people and staff created a warm and inviting environment. Our first morning was started with a lovely breakfast in the dining room. The only problem I had, was getting used to the accent. Great visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    270
    63
    36
    21
See reviews for
151
408
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went to the restaurant for my Dad's 60th birthday and we were really disappointed! We as family always used to keep the restaurant for special occasions, just because we liked it so much? Tonight just ruined that high esteem for the restaurant. Food was just average but from the beginning the table we sat under was cold with air conditioning turned on to cool, starters was just about ok but that is when things took a down, we waited and waited and waited for our plates to be cleared then when finally they did get cleared the service team forgot our soup course and went straight to main which was just disappointing! The restaurant was extremely busy and very short staffed and although we got a discount a nice treat out turned out to be just a slow and painful trip, I don't think we will be in a hurry to go back anytime soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Maria

We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your evening and that you felt the need to share so publicly your experience. We provide air conditioning to ensure a pleasant atmosphere for our guests - it can be adjusted at the touch of a button. Different people have different expectations of appropriate air temperature and if we had any idea that you felt it was too cool, we would immediately have adjusted the controls.
The restaurant was particularly busy and we sincerely apologise as we did last evening for not bringing the soup course in a timely manner. I am sorry that you did not feel the discount offered compensated for this - we had the impression that your Dad and other people at the table had enjoyed their meal. As always, we would like to ensure these special family events are pleasant and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel, pub attached, great location, housekeeping staff was a little rude but the front desk employees were very nice. Breakfast is continental unless you wait and order from a waitress which was a bit inconvenient. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and will take immediate action to deal with the issue that you have commented on. In relation to the hot freshly cooked breakfast coming from the kitchen, we made this decision to ensure that we could provide some extra special items with good variety cooked to order. We don't believe for example that our poached eggs with baby spinach and spring onion hollandaise could be held on a buffet table as these type of dishes should be served immediately after they are cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for a couple of night and if was all excellent. The efficient and friendly service, excellent food and service in the restaurant and the pub was a really nice place for a Guinness or two.

Outstanding reception and restaurant staff!

Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been to Ennis several times,but this was my first stay at the Old Ground. I was only there one night but found the location, staff and room to be very pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here last week. Great location, lovely welcome, nice room with comfy bed. The layout with extension at different levels is a bit odd, but it's an old building.
We are in the bar, great food and good price. Breakfast was wonderful, a really nice fry and selection of cereals, fruit, juice etc.
We will certainly stay here again next time we are in Ennis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

To briefly sum up the best points of our stay at the old ground,
> The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in (of all the hotels we previously stayed in)
> The room was clean and cosy
> The food was great.
> The staff were friendly.
> Nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

...and the worst
> The hotel is not much to look at from the outside.
> The water pressure in the shower was poor.

Overall - we will be staying here again when we will be back in Co Clare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.