We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowan Tree Cafe Bar

Rowan Tree Cafe Bar
Harmony Row, Ennis, Ireland
353 65 6868669
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 77 Restaurants in Ennis
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

food was excellant however we were stuck at a table behind a door which was very dark and uncomfortable (had to ask for an extra candle for the table) We did ask for another table when we came in but were only offered one beside the toilets. They didnt seem that busy and there were plenty of free tables when we left!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowanTreeEnnis, Owner at Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks very much for your review.
We really appreciate your feed back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Our head chef has extensive experience in Mediterranean cuisine ( having worked in Italy for a number of years) and we have just been recommended by Paolo Tullio Celebrity Chef, TV and Radio Personality, Author and Restaurant Reviewer. We do try to make sure we have ambient lighting in the restaurant but not dark so apologies if it was. When you are making your next reservation ask for table no's 2,18,4,5 which are all beside a window and are overlooking the beautiful river Fergus 18,4 and 5 in particular will make you think you are dining on a boat. Thanks again. Brian O'Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    64
    15
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amazing food at reasonable prices. Lovely and relaxed place to go for lunch/dinner or even just a coffee. Very friendy staff, great menu (best steak in town!). Lovely views of the river which is especially nice on a sunny day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowanTreeCafeBar, Owner at Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank You very much for your lovely review :)) We really appreciate your custom.
Regards,
RowanTree Cafe Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Perfect for a lazy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great food with a nice concise menu. I would recommend the soups/salads. Good service and always a friendly and warm atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowanTreeCafeBar, Owner at Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank You for your lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
RowanTree Cafe Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and restaurant interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, right airy, lovely views, very friendly and helpful staff, seems to be a lovely old building with a fabulous location next to the river. Also has fascinating artwork on display. Sometimes too much pasta in dishes and not enough meat or fish, but in general the food is of a high standard. Very nice for couple or family or events as its got lots of different table sizes and its always a pleasure to eat there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowanTreeCafeBar, Owner at Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank You for your very nice review. We are very lucky to be located in a beautiful 18th century riverside building and are very happy to display top quality local art. We will try to add more meat and fish dishes with our next menu update and hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
RowanTree Cafe Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outdated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I believe that this place has the potential to become a dining experience that has been achieved by Knoxs Bistro and The Poet's Corner. I do also believe that at the moment they are very far from the standards that are been set by the restaurants i have already mentioned

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowanTreeCafeBar, Owner at Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very dissapointed that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. It is our aim to ensure every guest enjoys our mediterranean style casual dining in a friendly and warm atmosphere, hopefully you'll give us another opportunity to prove that yours is not a regular experience.
Regards,
RowanTree Cafe Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowan Tree Cafe Bar also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Rowan Tree Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.