We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Ennis.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowan Tree Cafe Bar

Rowan Tree Cafe Bar
Harmony Row, Ennis, Ireland
353 65 6868669
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 78 Restaurants in Ennis
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Ennis.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bright, airy, and with good, pleasant service.
nicely varied menu, always a good place to visit,
Right beside the river, great place for lunch. !

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    14
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just brill!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Called to this lovely restaurant on Sat. evening last. This is one of my local haunts. I just love visiting here after a long working week. My hubby and I are always greeted with a smile from the very friendly staff. On a recent visit here for my birthday all the stops were pulled out. I even got a candle on my desert. What a lovely thought. On saturday evening I had the prawns gamberetti dela tigre. Succulent prawns in a tomato based sauce infused with chillies and garlic. YUM YUM YUM. It was devine. My hubby had the lasagne and he was not disappointed. The ambience here is just wonderful. It is a beautiful place to visit. The old part of the restaurant is so so impressive with its large shuttered windows looking out onto the river area. The early bird menu is 17.50 euro for 2 courses. In my opinion this place is well worth a visit!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant. I was in Ennis for the weekend and we booked 15 of us into the Rowan Tree for dinner. The food was excellent, piping hot, plenty of it and cooked to perfection. The real gold star has to be given to the staff, they are incredibly friendly and efficient. Would I go here again, I would have no hesitation in saying yes. Oh and most importantly, great value for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Found the Rowan by accident and a great lunch sitting in the sun by the river. Delightful setting and good good although a little pricey.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food - outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a great night at this beautifully situated cafe/restaurant. Look, I'll be honest, I've probably had nicer food but it wasn't bad food - just not hugely exciting, The staff at this restaurant are just great - charming and funny and can't do enough for you. We ate in the dining room and went out to the terrace after dinner to finish our wine (which was lovely). The waiters couldn't help enough and were really good fun. We were staying upstairs and the 10% off the meal was a nice bonus! Would definitely recommend for a good, informal, fun dinner in Ennis (and try to sit out if you can at all - the river is lovely).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowan Tree Cafe Bar also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Rowan Tree Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowan Tree Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.