We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Irish Stew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brogan's

Brogan's
24 O'Connell St, Ennis, Ireland
65 6829480
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 77 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Irish Stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our hosts at the guesthouse recommended this pub for food and he was right. It was located on the main commercial street and served a nice meal. Staff was friendly, menu varied and I would say better than average pub food. We had the Irish Stew and it was served over two scoops of mashed potatoes, lovely presentation and quite tasty as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    107
    30
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“You must try brown bread ice cream.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fantastic food. We ha the Irish stew and the pork belly. Both amazing. The service was very friendly. Great atmosphere. Must try the brown bread ice cream with hot toffee sauce. We went back twice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24oc, Manager at Brogan's, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Beth M., thank you so much for posting your review of Brogan's Bar Ennis, following your recent visit with us. We're delighted your enjoyed the experience and sincerely hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some future date. in the meantime, please keep in touch with us via Facebook or our website: brogansbarandrestaurant.com. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little pub in Ennis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived in Ennis for our last day in Ireland. Ennis is a wonderful market town with narrow winding streets and so much character. It had been raining all morning and we were looking for somewhere for a light lunch. We stuck our head in the door of Brogans and the atmosphere pulled us in. The building was old with so much character. We walked to the back room where a small fire was going and we sat at a table to enjoy it. We ordered clam chowder and bruschetta. They were both delicious......even better with Guinness. We unfortunately didnt have the opportunity to enjoy an evening music session there but if we ever get back to Ireland and Ennis....we will go to Brogans for sure. Great friendly staff and wonderful atmosphere. Stop in and see for yourself !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24oc, Manager at Brogan's, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to Brogan's Bar. We greatly appreciate your feedback .... it encourages us all to try even harder. We sincerely Hope you will visit again and in the meantime please stay in touch with us via our Website: brogansbarennis.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Awful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went in for lunch and a beer. Only one other couple in the restaurant for lunch at 12 noon. We told the young man what we wanted when we came in and he told us to sit down and he would take our order. Twenty minutes later we and two other couples who had wandered in left without ordering. Beyond uncaring!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24oc, Manager at Brogan's, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear WandaMPa, Your recent review has disappointed us greatly for a number of reasons and such harsh criticism entitles and demands closer investigation you must agree. For our part, our lunch/day menu commences at 12noon although we do open for breakfast / scones/ teas & coffees from 10am. We greatly regret if there was a slight delay in taking your order at 12noon but feel certain that a 20minute time lapse did not apply. Trip Advisor is a fantastic way of celebrating when you do well, advising what you need to improve on but also what the customer is looking for. Interestingly, the most previous review of Brogans to your abboration was from a gentleman who visited our premises on Several occasions over the course of a week-long stay in Ennis...He rated our food as of a consistently high quality and generous portion and the Staff were commended highly. Therefore, we were confused...until we reviewed the other comments & reviews as displayed on your profile....320 cities, 37 countries, over 150 reviews and comments ...including this one " Be suspicious of People who post misleading information". We operate a traditional family-run bar and restaurant in the heart of a charming and historical Irish town. We focus on providing our valued customers with top quality food, atmosphere, standards and produce. You criticise rather scathingly, a world-renowned award winning 5 Star establishment elsewhere on your tour of our fair country with having food "as good as Irish food can be" ... You must know something the best of critics do not. You have travelled far and wide ...over 25% of the world your profile acclaims, yet you felt that leaving without giving us the opportunity to resolve and address any disatisfaction you had, instead chosing to write a damning review....maybe its time you took stock and had a little rest. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to Brogan's several times during a week's stay in Ennis. The meals were always very good and plentiful. The service and attitude of the staff was first rate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24oc, Manager at Brogan's, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mike M, thank you so much for your recent review of Brogan's. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of our food and service and it is a great boost to all the team to receive such positive feed-back. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brogan's also viewed

 

Been to Brogan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brogan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.