We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drive on Atlantic Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loop Head

Loop Head
Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 71 Attractions in County Clare
Type: Geologic Formations, Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great drive on Atlantic Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The drive down the coast to find Loop Head was brilliant. Drove down from the Cliffs of Moher through Lahinch. Take your time and enjoy everything. The roads get narrower as you get to the Head. Climb the hill and the lighthouse dominates everything. The cliffs are not as spectacular as Moher but at least they're free.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    28
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to Get Engaged :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My review might be a little biased since my, now fiance, proposed to me in this beautiful location! We left straight from the Cliffs of Moher to head to Loophead. We had a very scenic drive up and the bad weather held out for us. There were only a few other people out there when we arrived and having the whole area mostly to ourselves to just relax and enjoy the view was amazing. The cliffs were spectacular and I couldn't have asked for a romantic spot to get engaged. I can't wait to go back at some point, perhaps when the actual lighthouse is open, and see our special spot again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loop Head Drive is BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

On the south side of Kilkee harbor you'll find a signpost that points you to the "Loop Head Drive" Take it! Amazing, unspoiled, and truly awesome. Serious cliffs pop up before you know it - and there are no warnings, no signs, no fences. Take your time. Take TONS of photos - and enjoy the sunset. Skip the overly commercialized Cliffs of Moher and take this drive, stopping often.

Loop Head itself . . . kind of anti-climactic after the amazing drive - but still pretty cool. And the lighthouse makes for great photos as well, just be sure you don't fall off a cliff while trying to get a good shot. :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I decided on a whim to head here one day and it did not disappoint. We timed it right as we had no wait for a tour, which while short was interesting and it was cool to go to the top of the lighthouse. Afterwards we looked around the small exhibition and then did the walk along the cliff side, which was beautiful. Really recommend it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrigaholt, Clare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This truely is one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. It is a peninsula that offers scenery, character and true hospitality. There are a number of activities to get involved in that would easily fill a four day holiday. a real jewel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loop Head also viewed

Kilkee, County Clare
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to Loop Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loop Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.