We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Path, but worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dysert O'Dea Castle and Archaeology Centre

Dysert O'Dea Castle and Archaeology Centre
Ireland
065-683-7401
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 71 Attractions in County Clare
Type: Castles, History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path, but worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A beautifully restored castle without the crowds. We were the lone visitors for the hour or so that we were there. The hostess was delightful and informative. Be sure to visit the other local sites as well!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

For those expecting a slick exhibition, then this is not the place for you, I'd suggest Bunratty Castle. But for something off the beaten path, something slightly different and interesting, then you should try here. The exhibitions have a certain quality of it being thrown together. The modern history room is just a very random but interesting mix of things. I found some of the items on show there pretty funny. But this just made the experience more interesting.

I would definitely pick a good day to go see the Cross and Round Tower part as you have to walk through a field that I can see getting very muddy very fast.

Woman on the counter seemed a bit rude or abrupt.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaley
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have been to the Dyseart O'Dea Castle/Archeology Centre numerous times. It is a must when we have friends over to help explain some of the history of the area. The staff are friendly and informed. The items contained in the castle giving a good overview of a different time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting & enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This castle is not only off the beaten track but also out of the usual tourist trap pricing. Considering the pieces on display relating to the history of the castle, I thought the few euros to get in was a bargain. I recommend buying the local hand drawn map showing not only the location of all the holy wells churches & rare high crosses within walking distance of the castle. If your interest is in medieval Ireland or christianity then don't miss here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

While this isn't the greatest castle in Ireland it's worth a stop if you're in the area. The view from the top is beautiful. This was one of our first stops and the video clip shown in one of the rooms was very educational, we kept picking out things we had seen on the video during our time in the area! We enjoyed the church on the grounds more than the castle itself.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysert O'Dea Castle and Archaeology Centre also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
Quin, County Clare
 
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Dysert O'Dea Castle and Archaeology Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dysert O'Dea Castle and Archaeology Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.