We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed unless you have bad weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs of Moher

Cliffs of Moher
R478 | Near Liscannor Village, Ireland
+353 065 7086141
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cliffs of Moher like an insider
Top Rated
$522*
and up
3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and...
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in County Clare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic cliffs stretching 700 feet over the rugged Atlantic coast. A short walk to O'Brien's Tower provides an excellent lookout on Ireland's beautiful western shoreline.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed unless you have bad weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful weather all day had us experiencing this to the fullest. With the amount of visitors that day, I would say it is one of the most visited attractions in Ireland. As with any travel in Ireland, take a waterproof and possible wind proof jacket. Very windy on top. We also drove (with a guide) to the other less visited side of the cliffs and the guide took us down into a lower level right to the edge of the cliffs! Check out Extreme Ireland for exciting personalised tours. We were on the 7 day Southern Gems tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,387
    724
    177
    65
    50
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you have the energy make sure to walk the entire way to the end. What beautiful scenery in every direction. The last time I was here, there were no barriers along the walk. They do take away from the view especially if you are short (as I am). There were areas where I couldn't see over the walls. The new visitor's center is very interesting and I really enjoyed walking through and exploring the exhibits. Seafood chowder in the cafeteria was really good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“visually appealing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful scenery for a fee, but its worth it. So much to look at every angle is different. There's a visitors centre with a cafe and souvenirs. Be prepared for wind if the weather is inclined. It can get a bit chilly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Overdeveloped but pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The cliffs themselves are really beautiful, but the paved tourist areas are a little sad. I understand that they wanted to make a safe viewing area for families, but it seems a shame that the spot isn't as wild and unspoiled as it must once have been. It's nice that they built the visitor's center into the hillside - at least that isn't much of a blight on the landscape. I do recommend visiting on a weekday if possible. I visited on a Saturday and it was absolutely swarming with people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiari, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The cliffs are all you think them to be: majestic, wonderful, windy as hell. A must see. I was amazed to learn that they do not extend as much as you'd expect them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliffs of Moher also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
Doolin, The Burren
 
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 

Been to Cliffs of Moher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs of Moher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.