We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and Delicious Portions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ted's Bakery

Ted's Bakery
59-024 Kamehameha Hwy, Sunset Beach, Oahu, HI 96712-9723
(808) 638-8207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Large and Delicious Portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A nice man at the Aloha Swap Meet recommended this restaurant, and for that I thank him. Two of us had the Loco Moco, and neither could finish it. Others had the garlic shrimp and cheeseburger - both delicious. I do not normally eat macaroni salad, but Ted's was awesome. The garlic shrimp came with slices of pie, which was awesome. The best pie I've ever purchased. After snorkeling we went back to purchase a chocolate dobash cake, and we were not disappointed. As an added bonus, this was the best smelling place we found on the island. You've got to stop here if you're on the North Shore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    258
    68
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close, cool and amazing variety....why go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spent a week on the north shore of Oahu around 4/20. Rented sweet little house on the beach....meant to cook our own food to save money....but when we found Ted's, money was no object. We just seem to end up back there time and time again. Spam and eggs? Oh yeah! With potatoes and these sweet little cornbread type cakes...hint of pineapple? The cream pies are to die for....get ready to photoshop those bikini shots unless you're surfing it off.....this place is worth every calorie! Great spot to hang, watch for celebs etc. be ready to wait....this place can get crowded, but kick back...it's Hawaii!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a must while in the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best food on the islands. BBQ chicken and ribs are to die for. Pastries will make you forget about your diet. They are fast and serve fresh food always. Very well priced and now have more seating. Easy to get to. I'm hungry now and wish I can eat there now.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much more than PIE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved Teds bakery. Yes the baked goods are great, but the breakfast and lunch plates are a must. First of all the staff are friendly and helpful. They have an ordering system much like the soup nazi episode on Seinfeld. However, when you do come up to order they never say "No Pie for You"! What you need to do is make your way to the cash register and order. The long line of people hanging out are just waiting for their food. If your lucky to come on the day they have coconut shrimp and brownies, you need to try them. Burgers are wonderful as are all the other items. We stopped in four times in the eight days we were on the north shore. You should stop in also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped here to try their Chocolate Haupie Pie, it did not disappoint. Even though I am not a big coconut fan, I really enjoyed this pie, because it was just the right amount of coconut mixed in with the chocolate and whipped cream. The crust was perfect consistency. We also got their banana nut and pineapple muffins - they were bigger than they looked and delicious. You will not regret stopping at this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.