We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good prices, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Siopa Beag

An Siopa Beag
The Harbour, Cape Clear Island, Ireland
028 39099
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Cape Clear
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

There is only one shop on Cape Clear. Luckily, this is very well run and good value for money. The prices are comparable with any other family-run grocers store on the mainland. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem.

Food is served all day in the summer and is constantly good, with many low prices specials on the board. Roasts are regularly on the menu, very generous portions at a very reasonable cost. From scones to mussels, cheesecake to chowder, sandwiches to steaks, all good. There are lots of outside tables overlooking the harbour, where children can play on the beach.

Then there are the pizzas!!!!! I have never tasted better anywhere else...so tasty, so crispy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pizza outside of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a meal there with four friends this summer(2012) whilst staying on the island. The staff serving there, like most of the islanders were warm and very accommodating. The decor of the restaurant is best described as rustic and shares some of the space with "the little shop" . The returant served freshly prepared food and all of my freinds who ate there (about 12 people) said the food was great . my own meal was a sundreid tomato and chorizo Pizza not the traditional fayre for an Irish fishing island but it was fantastic and i suspect they may be holding an Italian chef under siege in the kitchens. The best time to eat is whenever you can catch a table as its usually busy. the prices were reasonable and well worth it for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fabulous location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved being able to sit, read and chat while kids played on the beach and swam. This is the perfect spot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wide-ranging menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wide-ranging menu and not badly priced. One of only two establishments serving sit-down food and the only one which could come up with a vegetarian option!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlelyons
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the friendliest shop, restaurant and pub for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back from a stay in Cape Clear. Loved the extremely friendly service in all 3 outlets An Siopa Beag has. The food in the restaurant was delicious, even got the thumbs up from my very fussy boys. The shop stocked the freshest and tastiest brown bread I ever had ! Loved it so much, I bought a fresh loaf this morning to bring home with me ! And the service in the pub was second to non. Do yourself a favor and stop there. You wont regret it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Siopa Beag also viewed

Been to An Siopa Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Siopa Beag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.