We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Clear Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Clear Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Clear Campsite
Save
You added Cape Clear Campsite to your Saves list
Chleire Haven, Cape Clear Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Myself, my sister and 2 friends stayed in a yurt at the campsite and had a wonderful time. The service was great with the owner coming down to meet us off the ferry and drive our bags up. The yurt was stocked full of everything you could need including a bed, cooking facilities and even a little stove to keep it cosy. The inside of the yurt was clean and spacious and beautifully decorated and there were candles and solar powered lighting for when it got dark. The campsite's washing area and toilets were very clean and we were able to have lovely hot showers in the morning. The highlight was the beautiful view down across the bay and it really felt like a little bit of paradise. I would highly recommend going.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandDaveCape, Owner at Cape Clear Campsite, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thanks so much for all your nice comments! We try to keep the showers and toilets immaculate, though the odd moth does fly in at night as we leave the lights on! Please ask about or loyalty points if you are coming back this year! Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed at Cape Clear Campsite with my young children and parents in law. I cannot stress enough how wonderful a place it is for all ages. My children loved roaming in safety and my in laws enjoyed relaxing in some of the worlds most beautiful scenery. We can't wait to go back. We stayed in one of the luxury Yurts which was a new and exciting experience for all. Well maintained and very clean. Sally could not have been more helpful from helping us with our luggage to advising on activities/ places to eat and just having a good old chat, thank you Sally!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandDaveCape, Owner at Cape Clear Campsite, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope the family are all well! Thank you for taking the time to post on here so positively.
S & D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed in the yurts and never again ,there was a lot of earwigs and creepy crawlies in the yurt .No lighting from the tents to the toilets at night and the toilets were far from clean all webs,beetles and lots of moths. The yurts are in a nice location and the island itself is nice .The restaurant at the pier is lovely with very helpfull staff .Kayaking was fantastic and will definetly go back on a day trip to that.The boat trip to and from the island was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandDaveCape, Owner at Cape Clear Campsite, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We're so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your some aspects of your stay with us. The yurts, although fully equipped, are still just luxury tents and you are still camping out of doors where you will find creepy crawlies. We have changed the design of the floors since you stayed, they are encased with the yurt, so there is less chance of earwigs and spiders sharing your holiday accommodation with you but if you look carefully round your own home, I'm afraid you might find the odd creature who isn't sharing your mortgage/rent too! (they can just hide better in a house)
We found the comment about the showers/toilets a little unfair, as we are careful to ensure they are cleaned spotlessly at least once a day. I think what upset you was that there were moths in them. This happens because we leave the door open and lights on at night for customers, which obviously attracts moths and a few little spiders, who try to have a cheeky meal when we're not watching! Again, you are camping and must expect to find some insects, it is after all, their habitat.
We don't light the rest of the campsite, as it would obviously disturb others trying to sleep. We now make sure we tell everyone to bring a torch (we had previously assumed people would, as they were camping)
I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the island. If you're ever over again, please do come and speak to us, we don't mind constructive criticism, it helps us to help others enjoy their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Clear Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Clear Campsite

Address: Chleire Haven, Cape Clear Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cape Clear Island
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cape Clear Island
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Clear Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.