We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cauldburn House

Cauldburn House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cauldburn House to your Saves list
Cauldburn House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Belsyde | Lanark Road, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an overnight stay here on our way further north for a weeks self catering holiday. Cauldburn House was the perfect start to our holiday. The room was large, comfortable and spotless. The full Scottish breakfast delicious. Our hosts were outstandingly helpful and have taken a great deal of time to provide all the information a traveller could need giving us excellent recommendations for eating out, places to visit, parking etc. Definitely somewhere we would love to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We're all pleased at Cauldburn that we helped to make the start of your holiday a perfect one. There's so much to see and do in the area and we have lots of information to share with guests if they wish. We're glad that you made good use of it all. Thank you for sharing your experience and for such good review. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
44
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Jim and Hazel, thank you, what a wonderful experience we had with you both albeit brief. Though we only stayed one night on our honeymoon we felt like we'd come home. Jim was so kind, helpful and informative that we can't completely express the hospitality. Or king room was very stylish with ensuite. It and the house was impeccably clean and well kept. The Scottish breakfast is a must or even the continental. I don't think we'll experience a better place to stay on our honeymoon. Watch cauldburn because they are going to set up twenty rooms in the town of Linlithgow, though the b&b slightly out of town in a rural setting is my personal pick. We'll return one day to Scotland and seek out staying with Jim and Hazel. Good luck with being busy guys and thank you for your wonderful sense of humour!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was our pleasure to host such a wonderful couple. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cauldburn during your busy world tour. We're delighted that you both enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to seeing you again in the future when you can enjoy our rooms in the country or in the town centre. Until then, have a great life together. Best wishes, Jim & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This large home just a few minutes outside Linlithgow is a real find. Excellent location for exploring the area. Jim & Hazel are true hospitality experts. Room was large and breakfasts very plentiful. Would recommend to anyone. Very good value.

Room Tip: Upstairs looking out the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We're delighted that you found absolutely ever aspect of your stay at Cauldburn to your liking and thank you very much for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback. Thank you also for your interest in our new hotel suites development in the town centre of Linlithgow. Best wishes to you both, Jim & Hazel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here during our honeymoon trip for one night as a stopover. The room was fantastic and very comfortable. We were even provided with a map of the town and a list of places to eat. The following morning, we were presented with the full range of continental breakfast, which was mindblowing (in a good way).

A fantastic find and we would highly recommend this place to anyone. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We're delighted that you chose Cauldburn for your first overnight stay following your wedding celebrations and enjoyed everything about the hospitality so much. Hazel & I wish you both a long and very happy life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this B & B in late May while on a tour of the UK and Scotland. The room was large, bright and clean. Beds were wonderful. The hosts were very nice and treated us well. There are lots of different spaces here that let you relax in peace and quiet. Friendly animals over the back fence ! The breakfast was up there with the best we had had in the two months of travel and best breakfasts were in Scotland at B & B's !. Would have loved to have stayed on longer. We got a really good rate which made the experience even better. Well done to the hosts of Cauldburn House.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a really nice twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your superb review of Cauldburn after your grand tour of the UK. We're glad that you found our standard room rate such a good deal as this is actually the normal room price that everyone enjoys. You mention discovering the sheep, horse and Tootsie, the Shetland Pony, which all come to the garden fence for leftover toast or bakery items off the breakfast tables....they enjoy our breakfasts too! It's great that you took the time to experience what we offer. Best wishes, Jim & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here May 2013 and meant to review earlier but forgot! Lovely clean rooms, beautiful house, gorgoeus breakfast and two owners who could not do enough to ensure you had a great stay. And two lovely dogs! Would love to come again.

Ps there was no fitness centre or pool but I put excellent because the only other option my computer is giving me is terrible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for still remembering your stay in May and of course we're delighted that you enjoyed everything so much. Islay and Susie, our two West Highland Terriers, enjoy the attention of guests too! Glad you made friends with them as well.
The nearest Leisure Centre is only 1.1 miles away which has a leisure pool, steam room, sauna and gym, all very reasonably priced. Details of this are at reception however we are unaware of any guest ever making use of these nice facilities to date! Thanks for your lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location of this bed and breakfast is wonderful. Large nicely appointed rooms with great beds. Breakfast (extra charge though) was also fine. Owners very friendly.
In the nearby town Linithgow is much to see. The old castle with beautiful lakeside garden. Good food in The old post office

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cauldburn, Owner at Cauldburn House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very positive experience of Cauldburn House and Linlithgow. We're glad that you appreciated the quality of our beds and rooms so much and everything else too . Linlithgow Palace, birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots, is just one of the 48 great places you can see in the town's local visitor guide. That's before venturing further to see all the many other sites and attraction such as the Forth Rail Bridge or The Falkirk Wheel, just a couple of great examples nearby. We're pleased that you enjoyed the time you spent in the area. You might be interested in downloading the town's new 'Linlithgow App' to encourage you back again! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cauldburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cauldburn House

Address: Belsyde | Lanark Road, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cauldburn House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern four star bed and breakfast in Linlithgow near Edinburgh, has a friendly Scottish welcome waiting for you. Cauldburn House sits in its own romantic, peaceful and secluded grounds in rolling countryside. From here you have easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Stilring and Fife. Cauldburn is the ideal base for your Scottish vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cauldburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cauldburn House Linlithgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cauldburn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.