We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesnt get better than this......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamscraig Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linlithgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Williamscraig Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Williamscraig Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
The Horsemill | Williamscraig, Linlithgow EH49 6QF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It doesnt get better than this......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay over Christmas and New Year in the brand new Beach cottage. All we have to say is WOW. We loved the location, everything you could ask for was supplied. We had tons of room for family and friends. Boxing day with 15 family members was a breeze. Nothing negative to say about this place. Findlay was amazing and we are looking forward to staying there every year...LOVE IT

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
127
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family spent New Year 2014 in the Garden cottage. The complete presentation of the accomodation was supurb, finished to a very high standard. The cottage was tastefully furnished thoughout and extremelly confortable with underfloor heating, a log burning stove. The kitchen and dining room were great, along with a large fridge/freezer accomodating our family of 6 easily.
The lounge was equipt with a large flatscreen TV and DVD, we also took an Xbox for the kids, which fitted staright into the TV with a scart connection.
The cottage is in a great location, basically central to Glasgow, Stirling and Edinburgh. Locally the town of Linlithgow was a 2 minute drive and had excellent shopping, with Sainsburys, Tersco and Homebase, along with an excellent local butcher, Bakery, etc..
We would highly recommend staying at the Garden cottage, it was a 'Cool' and massivley relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our second visit to Williamscraig cottages for our 2nd Christmas running and just as before everything was perfect.

The hosts Findlay and Lynn were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Always contactable if needed with giving you enough space for privacy.

Since our last visit in 2012 Findlay has built a further 4 cottages which we feared may have spoilt the experience we previously had due to extra people around and possibility of extra vehicles and not getting that isolated feeling. We couldn't have been more wrong the atmosphere remains exactly the same, idyllic, picturesque and remote.

The cottage itself was as wonderful as I remember, we instantly felt relaxed and at home. It had once again been decorated simply yet perfectly ready for Christmas. The bear hunt, rope swings and swings in the picnic areas were a huge hit once again with our girls (7,4,3 years).

This place is what dreams are made of, we arrived on the Saturday 21st just before Christmas and left begrudgingly and through tears the 28th. In this whole week we only left the cottage twice, firstly on the Sunday for a few hours and then once on Christmas eve to visit Linlithgow and pick up some fresh produce for our meal Christmas day. We had no reason or desire to ever leave, everything you need is there and the cottage and surrounding area pull you into an almost hypnotic state of total relaxation.

We were extremely lucky as whilst there Father Christmas paid us a visit, the girls loved this and were completely shell shocked. They swiftly went to bed on the promise that he would return if they were good girls.

Findlay goes out of his way to ensure perfection is met for everyone that visits Williamscraig and he should be extremely proud as this is something that shines through.

The hot tub is amazing, drinking champagne under the stars on Christmas eve whilst the heat of the water washes away any aches and pains is amazing.

We were lucky enough to be able to view the new cottages Findlay had built and all I can say is WOW. High quality, excellent finishes and superb furniture with amazing views the only down side to these are now we have to make the difficult decision of which amazing cottage to choose.

Once again we will be back, thank you for our best Christmas yet!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thanks for a lovely new year break. The cottage was so cosy with the wood burner and the hot tub. There was everything you could need and more. Location good for visiting Edinburgh and Glasgow, not to mention Stirling and Perth. Thanks again.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Visit Scotland should have awarded Williamscraig Cottages 1st place for sure. An absolutely wonderful getaway. Great Location! Great Hosts! It was a last minute (literally as we were on the road to Scotland) and Findaly did absolutely everything possible to accommodate us. The cottage was heaven. Spacious, beautiful, elegant and a 1000 other adjectives for brilliant. We were so comfortable that at times we didn't want to even leave the cottage to go out. If you want the best of the best then these are the cottages for you. Absolutely LOVED it! Well done guys....you couldn't have done better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamscraigholiday, Owner at Williamscraig Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Sadia Thanks for your kind words, we have put a lot of time effort and money into the new cottages, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and everything was alright for you. I am aiming for a 5 star certificate from Visit Scotland and will charge 4 star prices, to make the business a real success, and I will get Visit Scotland round in the spring time and hope for the best.
Thanks again Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My aunt, mother, and I went to the Scotland for vacation this past July, and couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations in Rose Cottage. This beautiful cottage quickly became a second home for us, and a fantastic base for our day trips through the country. We loved the town of Linlithgow, which was filled with lovely cultural aspects and friendly people. We were also able to travel to Blackness, Stirling, Edinburgh, and a few small towns with the easy access to the train in town. Findlay was great, even when we were a bit overwhelmed after traveling. He was very helpful and welcoming, which made our stay even better. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to see Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed across the three cottages for my Sisters hen party. The cottages were ideal for what we were after - a relaxing stay within easy access into Edinburgh. The cottages were decorated and cleaned to a high standard, with all the utensils, hairdryers, irons, and essentials you need on a weekend away! The hot tubs were an added bonus and topped off the chilled out girlie weekend. We had caterers come and cook at the cottages one evening - would definitely recommend local company "Our Kitchen to Yours" - as well as a local beautician from "Tick Tock Beauty". Our only qualm was the heating did not stay on, and we had to keep boosting every hour. We attempted the log fires but were unsuccessful on more than one occasion! Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamscraig Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamscraig Holiday Cottages

Address: The Horsemill | Williamscraig, Linlithgow EH49 6QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linlithgow
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Scotland has awarded us 4th place in the 4 star rating for all of Scotland. We are a family owned and run business based near the historic town of Linlithgow, West Lothian, near Edinburgh. We have 6 cottages in beautiful rural surroundings, each sleeping from 6 to 12 people, and 4 of the cottages have their own hot tub. Children are very welcome and there is an outdoor play park on-site. You can find many visitor attractions and outdoor activities in the area to make your holiday special. We now offer jet ski trips by a qualified instructor and complementary therapies can be arranged at the cottages. Linlithgow has excellent public transport links to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling and Falkirk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Williamscraig Holiday Cottages Linlithgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamscraig Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.