We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Up Indian Cuisine

One Up Indian Cuisine
61 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LS, Scotland
+44 (0)1389 768226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Dumbarton
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run indian restraunt in the heart of Dumbarton town centre. We are situated on the 1st floor which makes us a little harder to find, that is why our customers say we're a hidden gem! Some history on the building - before Oneup it had been a few restraunts but most of Dumbarton will remember it as the old City Bakers.We have the room to accommodate up to 150ppl, with a small lounge for meetings. We are a licensed restraunt and serve buffet & a la carte, along with lunch & takeaways.
Balloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love the food, and staff. I dont even need to ask staff they know my usual. I just sit down and they bring me a glass of red wine then vegetable pakora.Then my favourite chicken curry and boiled rice PERFECT FOOD.Why would I go anywhere else ?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Manager at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Thank you for your returning custom and we are pleased you enjoy your overall experience with us.
We hope to see you soon
Kind regards One up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    8
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been to One Up a lot, so when vouchers dropped through the door during gloomy January, temptation was hard to resist. We went for the buffet and four drinks for two people for £22 option. Excellent value! The service was brilliant and we enjoyed the food. My only quibble was the heavy-handedness with the salt. I love salty food, but the lentil dhal was way too salty. But honestly otherwise, the food is fab, the service brilliant and it's well worth eating here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Manager at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We thank you for your custom and are glad you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for your comment on our dhal curry, our chefs have been notified & have taken this on board. We will also be carrying out taste checks through the night.
We hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks One up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“should have stayed at home”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

on Christmas eve i had been at work and had a stressful day couldnt be bothered cooking so decided to go out - being Christmas eve i thought it would be difficult to get a table anywhere but managed to get a booking at one up - it was local and we have had carry outs before and the food was always good. I can see why we didnt have difficulty in booking there were only another few tables occupied - the girl who was serving us did not have a clue - think it must have been her first night - she said it would be easier to take the buffet (easier for who) I did really want to order off the main menu but was given the impression this would be a problem. Agreed to go for the buffet and although the starters were okay and the rice was fresh the main courses were cold, bland and completely unappetising. There was absolutely no atmosphere and we were back home within an hour should have stayed in and got a carry out from somewhere else - will not be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Manager at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for the experience you had in your visit. Our buffet machine thermostat was broken and after a customer brought it to our attention it has now been fixed.
We also apologise on behalf of our staff and a staff meeting/training has been held so this does not happen again.
We hope you will consider visiting in the future,
Kind regards One up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great food with good quality ingredients. Both sit in and takeaway a good Indian dining experience.
Great value, especially returning customers with a buffet coupon. gets u 2 buffets for a ridiculous amount - about 14 quid!
Chefs specials can dishes I,ve not seen elsewhere - good for trying new things.
The family feast takeaway at 26 quid is great. Masses of starters and 4 meals. Does us 2 nights!
Not the busiest restaurant I,ve ever been in tho. Means u are almost always guaranteed a table. Doesn't make for the liveliest atmosphere tho - hence only 4 stars when it really should be 5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Manager at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
thank you for your review
We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
thank you again oneup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We used to visit an Indian restaurant in Helensburgh and everyone raved about how good it was and we had been satisfied with it Right up until we visited One Up in Dumbarton, this one takes cuisine and ambience to a whole new level.

The food is consistently good and is always cooked to order, not like many that have a huge pot pre-prepared. Because it is cooked fresh you may have a couple of minutes extra to wait, but it is well worth the wait.

They have recently started running theme nights, we went to the drag show night £25.00 per head with a four course buffet and five free drinks included, with excellent entertainment. All in all, a brilliant night out.

I have even started taking clients there for business dinners, I wouldn't do that if it is not top notch.

Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Owner at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad you gave our restraunt a try & enjoyed it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
OneUp Dumbarton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Up Indian Cuisine also viewed

Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to One Up Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Up Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.