We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Bed & Breakfast

Positano Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Positano Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Positano Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
79 Glasgow Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1RE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst up to visit family and I can honestly say we couldn't have been happier with our time there.

We stumbled accross this B&B as the Premier Inn we usually use had no spaces. I am so glad they were fully booked as we have now found a place we will use time and time again.

The room was spotless, big and cosy and even more welcoming considering it was below freezing outside. It has off road parking which is great.

I has all the normal bits 'n bobs such as tea making facilities, hair dryer etc.

This is a real gem of a place and I couldn't recommend it enough. It is a home from home and you feel at ease with the friendly staff, the great rooms and superb breakfast.

A great family run B&B that is spot on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed in Positano Bed and Breakfast. We were attending a wedding in Cameron House. We were very happy we decided to make Positano our base for the weekend. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was really good and we got invaluable local knowledge from Carmen and Achille while we were enjoying our breakfast. They could not have been more helpful. Our flight was delayed by two hours and we had to check in later than planned. There was no problem with this. Thank you all for a lovely stay and for your kindness. We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

were inflexible with check in times and i was worried we would be late i wasnt sure what time we would arrive however we were told that we really needed to be there before 6pm,, however once i got there the rooms were clean adn modern and we had 2 rooms downstairs which suited us very well, the breakfast and the people we friendly, well situated and reasonable priced

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it's very appreciated. We're very happy to hear that you had a good stay and it was really nice to meet you and your family. We hope to see you again one day - you are always very welcome.


We are sorry about our arrival time policies not completely suiting you. I think I can remember that you had initially wanted to check in some time after 9pm, but weren't sure when. Our latest check in time on day of arrival is usually 7pm-ish (not 6). We wanted to comment on this (not specifically related to you, but generally), as it has come up a few times now. We also wanted to point out that the issue here is check-in times, because after you have checked in, we have absolutely no restrictions or curfews - you are of course welcome to come and go as you please (including coming back as late as you want to.)

I think that we are very flexible if you consider that we are able to check guests in any time between 12.30pm and 7pm-ish on day of arrival (we do ask for a more approximate time between those hours of course - so that we are able to organise our day and run some errands - and all that we ask is for a wee call if those agreed hours were to change...) We also understand that delays can happen... Many B&Bs have far stricter policies than that!

We have always appreciated that we are *usually* not suitable for late check-in's (please ask though - we can sometimes make exceptions during quieter periods), but we always mention this before any booking is taken to make sure those small restrictions are going to be OK for you. Being a B&B and not having any staff, working 7 days a week from early in the mornings, we do need to put some limitations on how late we can check guests in. It would be great to have the abilitiy to have a 24/7 reception as a hotel does, but as we do everything ourselves, it is unfortunately not possible and not something we can really change unless we turn INTO a hotel. Also note that our check-in hours are the hours that the majority of our guests want to check in at - so usually there are no problems. If we are not able to accommodate a late check-in we are more than happy to suggest other accommodation in the area.

We do also appreciate that if you are more used to going to hotels or larger guest houses with 24/7 receptions (though I'm sure they have restrictions too!), then arrival time policies at Bed & Breakfasts are going to seem a bit odd. Until we started the B&B, we probably would have thought so too. We hope that most of our guests understand our reasons for these small restrictions, which are very typical of B&Bs - we are not in the minority!

Thank you again, and for giving us the opportunity to comment on the above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was a bit worried after booking by phone as the person I spoke to seemed very inflexible about arrival times (I was arriving by public transport on a Sunday!) But once at the Positano I was very happy - the room was large and airy and although on a ground floor there was little outside noise. The breakfast room was open throughout the day - which I made use of (only for pot noodle!) And the central location between the two rail stations was a great bonus. The staff were friendly and welcoming and I wish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a family party in Dumbarton and were are able to be accommodated easily by the team at Postiano after travelling all the way from Belgium . Very nice room for a bed and breakfast, clean beds , modern rooms. To top it off free wifi. Breakfast included and cooked before your very eyes and a excellent remedy for a hangover after a nights partying. Thanks Postiano

Room Tip: The family room on the top floor were great but be careful with the shared bathroom as when the toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and for your comments, we appreciate it very much.

I'm sorry that the pipes made some noise and disturbed you a wee bit in the morning, but we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise.

We just wanted to comment on those two bedrooms that your family were in on the top floor of the house (rooms Ischia & La Sila), as you mentioned the shared bathroom. We call these rooms our "family suite". The 2 bedrooms are only ever booked out together (usually by families or a small group of friends) - or if only one room is booked, then the other is not. As they are the only bedrooms on that floor of the house, the party who books the one (or two) bedrooms has that floor of the house entirely to themselves, which of course also includes the bathroom, so it's very private and unique.

Thank you again. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The place is a bit difficult to find, but once you get there, you don't have to worry no more. We stayed just for one night in a twin room wich included a private bathroom. Everything was clean and nice, although there was a slightly annoying repeating noise which I was not able to identify. It was not a big trouble, but I usually get bothered with this kind of things.The scottish breakfast as usual was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PositanoScotland, Owner at Positano Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We just wanted to say how nice it was to meet you both last month. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we appreciate it very much.

We wish you had told us about the noise you mentioned when you were here so that we could have tried to help - we really are very sorry. The only possible thing that I can think of that it could have been was perhaps the radiator in your room, which would recently have been back in use after the summer. When it hasn't been used all summer it could possibly make a little noise for a few hours when it's put back on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Friendly & helpful landlady whose equally nice Mum cooked me a a good breakfast. Good recommendation for dining out, well appointed large room & en suite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Positano Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Bed & Breakfast

Address: 79 Glasgow Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positano is a spacious, modern house that has been recently refurbished throughout to an exceptionally high standard. An ideal base for touring this area of Scotland: minutes drive from Loch Lomond and only 15 minutes from Glasgow Airport (60 minutes from Prestwick & 70 minutes from Edinburgh airports). Dumbarton Castle (oldest recorded stronghold in GB) is a 5 minute walk away. Ayrshire, Stirling, Luss, Helensburgh, the Trossachs, Inveraray, Aberfoyle, Dunoon and Glasgow are all ideal for day trips. Scottish Tourist Board approved, family run B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Positano Bed & Breakfast Dumbarton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.