We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmalid House

Kilmalid House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmalid House
Save
You added Kilmalid House to your Saves list
17 Glenpath, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2QL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Outstanding in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

great place. Very friendly owners - Ronnie and his wife. Very helpful. Great room with very comfortable double bed and en suite. Loved our stay. Came from Milton Keynes to stay over for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at this B + B last July 2011 and when we left didnt write a review because,to be honest. we really didnt know where to start - it was that difficult and such an overall bad experience on a number of levels ! What has prompted me now is that a friend asked me for advice on where to recommend in the Dunbarton area and i thought again about Kilmalid Lodge.Having read the current reviews on trip adviser they all sum up our experience exactly - for eg, the web site very different to the actual experience,rooms and breakfasts poor,host at the breakfast --sitting looking as you whilst you ate and trying to engage in conversations that were not welcolme - if only had the wit to notice but didnt appear to ! Those are just a few issues i have time to write about at the moment.Its a real shame because this house has such potential -- its the owners who unfortunatly let it down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpine1951, Owner at Kilmalid House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
this is a false review as we did not have a family from glasgow stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The website for the Kilmalid Guest House in Dumbarton promised a plethora of luxury. We were impressed by what seemed to be on offer. The reality was different. The room that we used was spartan, being without an en suite or a carpet. The tea/coffee facilities were a token number of the cheapest teabags (undrinkable), and a few instant coffee sachets, and milk. There was only one medium towel for each of us. The communal bathroom was across a draughty hall, and was clearly used by a number of guests. On the site, breakfast was presented as a veritable feast of fine cereals, muesili, Scottish porridge, haggis, black pudding, Scottish oat cakes, fine tea/coffee, and unlimited toast. In actuality, there was a trio of tired cereals, some orange juice, and the same tea/coffee as in the room. The cooked breakfast consisted of a fried egg, a small sausage, half a grilled tomatoe, and a piece of stale bread that had been fried. The toast seemed more limited in number than unlimited. When we telephoned to book the room, our credit details were taken down, but on payment we were asked to pay with cash. Overall, the website is clearly designed to be misleading. It suggests that the amenities, and meals are of a greater standard than that which is delivered. For £64 there should be a number of facilities that are considered standard.Kilmalid does not give either comfort or value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The first impression of the B&B was untidy but with a bit of effort it could have been quite acceptable. The room was quite good and would have been better if a few small updates were made such as a new stool and jug. The host was friendly but felt he had to make conversation during breakfast. On comparing the tariff with other places I felt it should have been 65 instead of 70 pounds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing west sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

no one there when we arrived, dirty water trickling out of taps so couldn't have a bath paint peeling off the ceiling in bathroom, beds so uncomfortable couldn't sleep curtains nearly falling down when you tried to close them. went into glasgow and came back to find no one in yet again. told off about dog weeing on the front lawn yet listed as dog freindly need i say more.

Room Tip: no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moragmuirhead, Owner at Kilmalid House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but I feel the main problem was the incident with your dog when I had to ask you not to allow you dog to foul (not only weeing) on the grass in front of my dining room window. Although you said you would pick up the pooh that was not really acceptable to me as I must consider my other guests and for this reason I will have to review taking dogs. Guests normally advise us if they are arriving before 3pm so I am very sorry that we were not at home when you arrived around 1.30pm. The bed you complained about is from Marks & Spencer - is top quality - and you are the first person to find it uncomfortable. The curtains and pole were purchased last year and are good quality. The en-suite is fairly new and very clean and spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmalid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmalid House

Address: 17 Glenpath, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2QL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kilmalid House Dumbarton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmalid House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.