We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kilt Rock Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilt Rock

Kilt Rock
Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 64 things to do in Isle of Skye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Kilt Rock Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stunning vista of a beautiful waterfall on the cliffs of the Isle of Skye. It is easily accessible by car. Great for a relaxing, yet magnificent experience between some of the more taxing walks on Skye.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    145
    53
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good place to stop when passing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On my way the the nothern area of Isle of Skye and stopped at kilt Rock, there are plenty of other rock formations to also see in the area, kind of a jurassic feel to the area.

Kilt rock on the day i arrived was very busy and i found the car park very cramped and difficult to park due to the amount of coach tours arriving at the same time with tourist.

Once i had managed to get a parking place i loved the views of the rock formation, there is a platform to look over to get a decent view of the waterfall dropping to the sea, and fantastic views out into the blue sea. lots of wild birds to also view on the cliffs if you like wildlife.

definatly worth a visit and its free!! stop for some great photographic memories of the Isle of Skye

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's an amazing waterfall, unfortunately there is a limited view from the car park due to it being next to the waterfall, however in good weather there are views out across the bay and of the waterfall, to an extent. There is also some interesting information about the Dinosaurs that once lived in Staffin.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What's under yer kilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's spectacular to look at.its ancient drive to get there.glad I seen it ...go there and sit back and in joy the view.you will leave feeling refresh

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Kilt Rock > Isle of Skye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I and my wife visited Scotland from 07 Oct to 13 Oct 2012. During our visit we were taken to the Isle of Skye. The wonderful Island has many tourist delights. Among them Kilt Rock formation ranks very high. There is a waterfall which steeply fall vertically in the sea. The location is beautiful with the wide expanse of sea in front, White colour cliffs and the water fall.Very well maintained, it is a must see for all visitors to the Isle of Skye.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilt Rock also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Glendale, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Kilt Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilt Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.