We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Bay

Calgary Bay
Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 attractions in Isle of Mull
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Original Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A must for all Canadian travellers, the original Calgary.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    34
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Self catering accommodation only 5 minutes walk from Calgary Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Over the Easter period, we stayed in a self catering farmhouse just a short walk from Calgary Bay. The owners run a gallery, tea room and several other self catering properties all in close proximity to where we stayed. The accommodation was of a good standard and came with a sizeable garden, including swings and a play house, which our children enjoyed. Guests are very much encouraged to recycle during their stay and this was well organised. Any issues were dealt with quickly and we were genuinely made to feel welcome. This is a beautiful island and Calgary Bay is particularly special. I would recommend this place to families and couples alike; however, If you're looking for isolation, it's not going to suit you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Calgary - a tropical beach in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Beautiful clean beach with good car park, very white sand, water clarity was excellent. Only downside was quite a few dog walkers but it was April and there was plenty of room for all.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, even in cold weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Calgary is such a beautiful beach, gorgeous sands into shallow blue seas. Since we usually visit Mull around Easter it's quite normal for us to be there in our waterproofs and warm clothes, building sandcastles & collecting shells. One advantage is it's usually really quiet at this time, with hardly anyone about. Just up the road is a nice tea room where you can get a hot drink and a bite to eat, and escape the chill sea breeze that invariably blows at this time of year. Lovely - a must if you're staying on Mull, especially with children.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is my second favourite beach in the whole of Scotland. My first being in Shetland.
This is the sort of wide, sweeping, glorious bay you dream of, or remember from being a child.
No words can really describe how lovely it is. And it is one of those beaches that looks as good with the tide in or out.
Huge sandy area and rolling dunes.
And there is a lovely little wooden tea hut open from Easter.
You will not be dissappointed by this bay, and will want to go back for more and more and more.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Bay also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 

Been to Calgary Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calgary Bay to your Saves list