We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - one of the most stunning gardens we've ever seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lip na Cloiche Garden and Nursery

Lip na Cloiche Garden and Nursery
Lip na Cloiche | Ulva Ferry, PA73 6LU, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Attractions in Isle of Mull
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lip na Cloiche is a small, densely-planted garden on the Isle of Mull, open to the public. Lip na Cloiche garden is situated close to the shoreline of the Isle of Mull, and has stunning views of Loch Tuath and the Isle of Ulva. It is well worth seeing, especially if you are interested in finding out which plants are likely to thrive in the mild local climate. A wide range of such plants is available for sale throughout the year, as well as fresh eggs and many craft items made from locally "found" materials.There is no admission charge.
sunderland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing place - one of the most stunning gardens we've ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The review title says it all... beautiful gardens situated in the most fantastic setting overlooking the west coast of Mull. The owner has obviously made this a labour of love - these are not just gardens, they are a work of art. We had a cup of coffee and a cake sitting surrounded by the most lovely and unusual plants, the owner was very helpful and obviously has extensive knowledge about her plants (which we found to be reasonably priced). This is well worth a visit!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The most beautiful garden I've ever seen. Lovely afternoon out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The most beautiful and artistic garden I've ever seen. Lucy the owner has clearly worked so hard. I left feeling full of inspiration. There is no admission charge but I think it's definatly worth a donation. 5 stars from me!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Lovely Garden created by the owner with no charge for entry

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We arrived later than intended to a note on the door. Our hostess had gone to dinner with a friend. That was fine with us. We made coffee and let the cat in hoping that it was Lucy's cat. The bedroom, no, the whole downstairs was a place to be studied. The crafted found items, the collections, the glasswork, pottery, photos. And we hadn't even seen the garden yet! Lucy likes the colour blue...I liked her before I met her.
The bed was comfy and we slept the sleep of the blessed.
We met Lucy, a woman of few words, at breakfast time. Breakfast was good. Coffee was good. Weather was perhaps predictable...rain. The rain wasn't a spoiler. It added to the beauty of the place. Would I go back ...yes. Would I recommend....yes. Don't expect a chatty gushy woman. It isn't Lucy's style.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out - superb eccentic garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I would agree with Mystery Guest - this is a fascinating garden. The use of found objects from beach combing etcetera is inspired - it appears eccentric but works. The plants were thriving when we visited, showing a knowledgeable plants-woman is at work.
It would not suit a person with limited mobility - the paths are steep in places and quite narrow. The view from the top looking over Ulva is superb, though.
The main problem is parking - I did not know one could use the adjacent field. I wonder how many have passed on by, because of this. Fortunately the parking bay was empty.
If near Ulva Ferry, whether a gardener or not, DO visit. No entry fee (although an honesty box for donations is by the gate - unlocked!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lip na Cloiche Garden and Nursery also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 

Been to Lip na Cloiche Garden and Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lip na Cloiche Garden and Nursery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.