We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broad Bay House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Broad Bay House to your Saves list
Broad Bay House
Back, HS2 0LQ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off advance purchase
Ranked #1 of 61 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rothes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two wonderful nights in Broad Bay house at the start of August. We were greeted by Ian who was very friendly and showed us the facilities and everything we needed to know about the house. They really have thought of everything you could need to have a perfect stay. It felt like you had escaped everything else going on, and relaxing was simple. Our room was comfortable, clean and nothing short of luxurious. I have to say, the massive bath was a highlight! We were provided with refreshments above and beyond what you would expect and every corner was filled with something else to make you smile. The library with books, maps and dvds meant we had everything we needed to plan our stay on Lewis, and also enjoy the entertainment system in the room in the evening should we wish to. The breakfasts catered for everyone and were delicious. Everything was fresh and locally supplied where possible. The location of the house meant it was the perfect base to explore the whole of the island. We ate dinner in the guest house one of the night's we were there which was also fantastic. Esther who helped with service at breakfast and dinner was very friendly and helpful, as was Marion. Simply put, we were both in agreement it was the best place we have ever stayed and would love to go back!

Room Tip: If you like a bath go for room two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
157
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

With 40 years experience as B&B and hotel guests, Broad Bay House surpasses them all, whatever their star rating. We were so impressed by the attention to detail that has gone into the design of the house, the furnishing and fittings and the service provided. For example, we particularly appreciated the powerful telescope (to watch the seals), the availability of fresh milk for early morning tea, the sewing kit from John Lewis and the weather station readings. The list could go on and on.
The food provided was outstanding and served by the delightful Esther who is also a fount of knowledge about the islands and a great ambassador for the Hebrides.
This house makes an excellent base for discovering Lewis and Harris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wonderful couple of days spent at Broad Bay House, overlooking a beautiful white sandy bay. Ian and Maureen had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. More like a 5 * hotel than a guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not the first time i am travelling to stornoway, i used to book hotels which costs same or more than this B&B. Why should you go for hotels when the luxury and warmth of a 5 Star resort is just couple of miles away. Spacious rooms with home cinema, wifi, fully licensed BAR, a mini movie library (this is free when hotels charge you), Smart TV and lot more!!!

Exceptional in all manner! location, rooms, food, service second to none. The best B&B i have ever been to. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had waited a long time to make the journey to Lewis and Broad Bay House. Once there we could have put down roots. The amazing panoramic sea view from the lounge was mesmerising. We spent ages watching the birds and seals and hoping for basking sharks. Everything was so easy and relaxing. Charming Esther served a delicious breakfast. Our spotless room and bathroom were beautifully and thoughtfully appointed. We had no need of the home cinema in our room because the weather was fantastic. Ian and Marion's help with maps and touring advice meant we made the most of our few days on this fascinating island. We have travelled the world and had some memorable stays, but this was perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We fell in love with The Isle of Lewis thanks in no small part to Ian, our host at Broad Bay House. He was there to greet us at the door with a map and an itinerary that took the best advantage of our time. Go to the Isle of Lewis and stay nowhere but Broad Bay House! The setting was stunning and the room sublime. Everything was in sync with the extraordinary natural environment which impressed us greatly. Our only regret is that we didn't arrange for dinner, but if breakfast was any indicator, it would have been exceptional. It will be a life long love affair and we will return whenever we can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

All the accolades from other reviews are justified. 5 star rooms, service and food but with all the charm of a friendly guest house. Meticulous attention to detail in all aspects. Ian and Marion are wonderful hosts. It is 15 minutes from town but that means it is on a broad, beautiful and deserted beach. Dinner was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broad Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Bay House

Address: Back, HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding beach side contemporary guesthouse, rated 5 Star Gold and Eat Scotland Silver by Visit Scotland. Spacious luxury bedrooms, amazing views, fine food and a great selections of wines and whiskys. Free wi-fi, fully equipped guest library with PC and printer, and a completely relaxing environment. Just 10 minutes from Stornoway, and ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Lewis and Harris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broad Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broad Bay House Hotel Isle Of Lewis
Broad Bay House Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broad Bay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.