We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paint a Pot

Paint a Pot
Coll Pottery, HS10JP, Scotland
018510820651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Activities in Isle of Lewis
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paint a Pot is a paint your own ceramics cafe. Create something which is uniquely yours for friends, family or even for yourself. Once you have finished painting your chosen item we glaze and fire it and it is ready for pick up a few days later. Painting ceramics is a very social activity and appeals to all ages from 3-103. We have a selection of specialty coffees, teas and a small selection of light lunches such as Panninis and Toasties.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just to say we went to Paint a Pot on the Isle of Lewis, when the weather was a little disappointing for our "summer holiday" and outdoor pursuits lost their charm. We found a very cosy and welcoming set up, well equipped with lots of choice as to what to paint. I hadn't seen such a range of tiles/jugs/mugs/platters/teapots etc etc before. There were plenty of paints and materials available. It had the feel of a cute, little cafe crossed with a studio. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and helped with anything we needed. The children loved it and in fact we all had such a happy time we decided to go back the next day. In the end we spent several hours there (even though by then the weather had improved) and got very absorbed. It was a happy trip for parents and children. To be reccommended. Great coffee and hot chocolate too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windytubaman, Owner at Paint a Pot, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write such a lovely review. It has taken a lot of time and effort to set up our studio in the old Coll Pottery buildings. We spend a lot of time training our staff in customer care and are pleased that they helped contribute to your enjoyment of your sessions at the studio. Paint a Pot enjoyed having you and your family a long to paint and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced & dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having visited several pottery studios across the country I have to say this is the worst ever.
To start with there is a £4 'studio fee', in fairness the owner is upfront & told us this at booking. Everywhere else we have gone the cost of paints & glazing was incorporated in the cost of the pottery......not here. The pottery was overpriced. £10 for a mug ( plus £4 studio fee) makes for an expensive mug.
The studio is grubby, paint pots are encrusted with dry paint, sponges dirty, brushes are old & dirty.Toilets no better.
Given the general state of the place there was no way I would consider eating anything from the 'cafe'. ( does a coffee machine & microwave behind the counter make it a coffee shop?!)
On collecting our finished items some 3 days later the glazed finish was shocking. Patchy discoloured, uneven & black grit throughout. Looked like it had been done with their eyes shut.
My advice would be AVOID this place. Keep your money & find a proper pottery studio on the mainland.
Real shame as it gives all the other proper professional pottery studios a bad name.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windytubaman, Owner at Paint a Pot, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write a review of Paint a Pot. I am sorry that you have found the need to write a bad review, thank fully, we do not receive many complaints. Customer satisfaction is paramount to us and so on the rare occasion that we receive a complaint about our work we always seek to address the issue at the time by providing replacement items, correcting any faulty work or compensating/re-funding the customer. There is no record of a complaint being received so unfortunately we did not receive an opportunity to rectify matters with you personally at the time.

Let me try to address your concerns through this reply;

Concerning pricing;

Most ceramic studios apply one of two methods. The first involves the customer being charged an upfront studio fee. This covers the costs of glazing and firing items. To this is added the cost of items painted. This means the decorator is only charged once for glazing and firing regardless of the number of items painted. Ceramic studios charge a range of studio fees normally between £3-5, our fee is £4. Our charging policy is always explained in person to the customer before they choose items to paint.

Or

‘The studio’ add the whole or part of the glazing/firing fee to all items in the shop. This adds a considerable amount to the cost per customer and is not transparent. We do not subscribe to this pricing regime and prefer to keep costs both transparent and low. As a result our retail prices fall into the lower end of suppliers recommended retail prices, this includes our range of mugs. We provide a huge range of items to paint these range in price from £3-£33.

Kitchen/toilets and studio are all cleaned thoroughly before we return home at night and on an ongoing basis throughout the day. However, we are currently in the process of refitting all three rooms for the added comfort of our customers. This has caused significant amounts of extra dust over the Summer which we have endeavored to keep on top of.

Lastly, now that renovations are coming to an end we have introduced a new supplier of home baking to the studio. This compliments a small range of hot and cold food which we make in our modern kitchen. The kitchen is not situated with the coffee machine and drinks fridge (in the main studio) but to the left of the main building. I am sorry that you felt unable to sample the food which many customers, including several of your fellow reviewers felt added to the experience ‘The coffee and cake are delicious’ jessrabbit.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit.

Regards windytubaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to keep kids and adults occupied for a couple of hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is the second trip we have made to Paint-a-pot (also visited last year). We have 3 kids b10, and 2 girls 8 and 4. A great outing to keep kids and olds entertained for a while. A lovely, practical studio with a very warm welcome, excellent instructions, great coffees and cakes and of course many objects to paint - from money boxes to plates to cups and many more. All that's needed is your imagination and you are guaranteed to have some peace and quiet working out your Michaelangelo designs. Well worth the short trip out of Stornoway whether it be sunshine or rain. We will definitely be back (I need to improve my painting skills for sure ;-) )

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windytubaman, Owner at Paint a Pot, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review we enjoyed your visit to our studio and hhope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to spend some time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We popped in for a coffee and had a great time. The coffee was great and we also had a quick tour of the pottery that used to be there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windytubaman, Owner at Paint a Pot, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review we enjoyed your visit to our studio and hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding service!!! :))))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

He might not thank me for saying this but the owner went out of his way (quite literally!) to help us :)
Didn't manage to get to Paint A Pot earlier due to incredible weather (and amazing beaches!) so when we did it was going to be difficult to pick up our fired pottery before catching the boat back. Thanks to the incredibly kind owner we were reunited with finished Hello Kitty 'piggy'bank and jug just in time - and even had an impromptu tour of the kilns :)
Hope the owner has a great summer season, it means soooo much for folk to visit and I heartily recommend it - whatever the weather!!! :)
Thanks again for everything (coffee isn't bad either!) :)))

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paint a Pot also viewed

Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Paint a Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paint a Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.