We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the journey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abhainn Dearg Distillery

Abhainn Dearg Distillery
Carnish | Uig, HS2 9EX , Scotland
01851 672429
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bathurst, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We knew about this distillery, and decided to make the trip whilst we were in Lewis.

It is carefully disguised as an old fish plant, and the journey off the main road seemed to take ages, and we had to ask the way twice, but on the way back it was much shorter! Thanks to Marko, the founder of the distillery, it was an extremely interesting visit. The output is obviously still very small, but we had a "dram" of each of the whiskies and bought a bottle of each! For such a young whisky it is remarkably smooth, and already closely resembles an Islay malt.

Very interesting and entertaining, and highly recommended as a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Its possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a really pleasent surprise. After a 45 minutes nice and informative cabdrive from Stornoway, we got a warm friendly welcome at the destillery, a tour around the production and facilities, some tasting of products, and the history. This is the place for all those seeking a real thing and not the usual tourist traps.
The location is spectacular, and the story just as good. Give the destillery 7 more years and it will be among my favorits.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirriemuir
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good for a full blown pilgrimage?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Without wishing to comment on some of the other interplanetary reviews that appear here , I feel it says much about the vagaries of trip advisor that this is –apparently?- ranked 5th in the attractions of the entire island of Lewis.
We drove right past this place twice while we were looking for it. This is because it is cunningly disgused as a semi-derelict fish hatchery. In fact on closer inspection it IS a semi derelict fish hatchery. The distillery shares the premises of a fish farm. A rusting combine harvester completes a subterfuge which presumably is intended to confuse HMRC.
I think we should have phoned first, to say we were coming. We arrived at 2.20 pm and the place was all but deserted, apart from someone busily banging about in one of the sheds. A large black dog dozed in the dirt. The roller shutter door for the distillery ( which is in a small shed) was partially open, and we could see the equipment therein. I felt it was unfair on the proprietor to further intrude without prior arrangement, and certainly not just for the chance of a free swig.
A very interesting experience, and the first time I have visited such a modern ( but surprisingly miniscule?) distillery. This place is certainly unique , I admire their enterprise and I wish them every success for the future.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A real distillery with none of the clinical institutionalism of Talisker or other large distilleries. Well worth popping in.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“The best spirit I've ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We visited this small distillery as part of our trip with Norwegian Friends. In fact this visit to the distillery was the whole reason for visiting Lewis, as it was only officially opened 2 years ago - a brand new one! It is in a remote part of western Lewis about 15 miles west of the Callanish Stones. We arrived a bit early and I walked along the road about 400 yards to view one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, with pearly light golden sand. When the owner arrived at the distillery we were treated to a talk on the short history of the distillery, as well as many free nips of The Spirit of Lewis - it is very good, and the owner is friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Then he took us to the warehouse where the barrels were kept. He gave us a taste of what would become his first Single Malt Special Edition - having tasted hundreds of malt whiskies, and Lagavulin 16-year-old being my undisputed favourite - I can honestly say that it was the finest spirit that I have ever tasted! Naturally, we all bought bottles of The Spirit of Lewis.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abhainn Dearg Distillery also viewed

Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Abhainn Dearg Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abhainn Dearg Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.