We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best - very classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thirty Five

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thirty Five
35 Coll, HS2 0LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best - very classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Thirty-Five for two nights during our tour of the Western Isles. Moira and Rod welcomed us in when we arrived early on a rainy day. The room and lounge were a welcome respite from some pretty poor weather we had been experiencing. The room was great, the breakfast fantastic, and Coll was a great place to base ourselves for touring Lewis. The beach looked pretty good as well. Thirty-Five is truly a luxury B&B and we would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a choice get the double room, it is bigger and more comfortable, though more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Glad you had so many good memories of The Outer Hebrides to take home to New Zealand. We appreciated your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed with Moira & Rod in this 'most outstanding' bed and breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped over their doorstep. The king room was perfect in every way, attention to detail was superb. We had a beautiful view accross the sandy bay, the room was immaculate and comfortable. The home baking - Lemon Drizzle Cake - was 'heaven'. My wife requested a vegetarian breakfast and she was pleasantly surprised by the high standard and presentation of her meal - Butternut squash pancakes, Maple syrup, and fresh fruit - all served cordon-bleu. (Most other B&B's just offer veggie sausages). I highly recommend this fantastic accommodation, and just can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Spread out in the King Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Glad your wife enjoyed the Vegetarian Menu choice of pancakes. We now have a full Vegetarian Breakfast Menu which is available on request. Thank you for your kind remarks and your appreciation of our King Room. We enjoyed your company too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs, including many in Scotland. I cannot recall ever being as comfortable and well-cared-for as at Thirty-Five B&B in Coll, on the Isle of Lewis. It starts with the most functional and thoughtful architecture and furnishings I've yet encountered. I stayed seven nights in the King room, and it’s large, with plenty of storage, good navigation space, very comfortable king-size bed and furnishings, truly adequate lighting, and good access to the very pleasant view. Everything a traveler needs is there, and easy to access. I'll mention one of my pet peeves -- electrical power -- but it's just an example. There are unused electrical outlets in several locations in the room, including behind each of the bedside tables.

The food is terrific, and easily handled my very biggest pet peeve. Most UK B&Bs seem to expect us to enjoy a "full Scottish (English, Irish, Welsh) breakfast” every day of our vacation. I'm bored by day two, and irate by day three. But Moira (who agrees with me about this, by the way) always provides a different special meal as a choice on the menu, and they're fantastic!

And finally, there are Moira and Rob themselves. They're very warm and personable, supportive of the special needs we all have from time to time, and they're "present" just the right amount of the time. No one will ever feel either ignored or intruded upon in this household. And they're certainly knowledgeable about the island, and helpful in planning your time there. The only down side I can think of is that they may have raised my expectations for B&Bs dangerously high. But I guess that can't be all bad. ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our home and the traveller photos you published of the King Room. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us for the Mod when it was held in Stornoway. It was interesting to be introduced to Geo Caching and we hope you will return one day to uncover more mysteries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenau, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

You could not find a better bed and breakfast place. Rod and Moira welcome you with so much warmth that you feel you are a friend rather than a guest. Every day home-made cakes are waiting for you in the very comfortable and spotlessly clean bedroom. The breakfasts are simply superb - cordon-bleu cookery - and the presentation both stylish and artistic. The lovely sunroom where the breakfasts are served offers a beautiful view over Coll beach. Everything is done to make your stay in their beautifully furnished home as unforgetful as possible. Thank you Moira and Rod for a wonderful couple of days! We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We were so glad that you enjoyed the Sun Room so much and that you spent a lot of the time with us relaxing there. You were so grateful for everything and we appreciated that. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Somers, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We could not fault our stay with Moira and Rod. Spacious and comfortable room, excellent food and very friendly and helpful hosts. Our only problem was our decision to only spend one night with you. Location on the main road to Stornaway (only 8 minutes away) was also an advantage. Great location beside Coll beach and an excellent base for a holiday on Lewis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We were so pleased that you found our location so convenient. It was so good to have you to stay with us and hope you can come for longer next time! Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My mother and I came to Lewis for the purposes of family research, and our stay at Thirty Five was very fortuitous. Apart from a beautifully appointed twin room, fabulous breakfasts and hosts Moira and Rod going out of their way to make us welcome, Moira went above and beyond to help us, by making enquiries of her neighbours to investigate family connections in the area. It turned out that not only did we have relatives living just up the road, but that Thirty Five was part of the original farm that our ancestors lived on! Lewis is a very small community and for anyone wanting to make connections with their ancestral links, I would recommend staying here, as Moira and Rod are very interested in it themselves. The location is stunning, and we would love to come back in warmer weather and enjoy the beach. This is probably the best place we stayed on our entire two week trip to the UK!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Your visit to us will always be very memorable as together we found your family in Coll. It was a delight to have you to stay and thank you for your appreciative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here with the wonderful hosts Rod and Moria for 4 nights and they could not have been more helpful! the room was great, fabulous comfy bed, home made treats and great fluffy towels. Breakfast is served overlooking Coll sands and I agree with other comments that this is better than 4 star hotels I have stayed in! the personal touch makes all the difference. Many Thanks!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Room which was spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoiraIsleofLewis, Owner at Thirty Five, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation. Coll sands had a real attraction for you and we know how much you enjoyed walking on the beach. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thirty Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thirty Five

Address: 35 Coll, HS2 0LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty Five is a modern well maintained bungalow offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation overlooking the beautiful sands of Coll Bay beach on the Isle of Lewis in the picturesque Outer Hebrides of Scotland. The Guest House is open all year round and we are situated approximately six miles from the main town of Stornoway within easy reach of the Ferry Terminal and Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thirty Five Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirty Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thirty Five to your Saves list