We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating on air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added White House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
11 Upper Shader | Barvas, HS2 0RQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 61 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Floating on air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dear Leslie and David,

Thank you ever so much for the recent opportunity to once again, enjoy the lovely scenery of Lewis and Harris and your meaningful input into our stay.

We are very sorry for the delay in our arrival, the trip was tiring, ferry delayed, and we did not calculate the route properly. You can’t even imagine what a relief it was to see you not only upset but just the opposite, happy to help us with the language. We would had struggled if not your help, much obliged! When you are too long behind the wheel the thought that you would be there at the end of the journey was like reassuring hush for us.

Leslie, I noticed your certificate on the wall (nosey me), no wonder your breakfasts very so tasty! However knowing your can – do attitude it would have been gorgeous anyway.

We were mighty pleased to have a chance to stay in your almost luxury B&B. Saying “almost” we are just being modest, don’t want to overdo it describing spotless bathroom and so well equipped room which must make every tired tourist feel like heaven. Did I mention fresh muffins always waiting for us in the room?

Room Tip: Very easy to find, just look out for a red telephone box. Good location, half way between most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
77
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We wanted to see sites from the north end of the Isle of Lewis to the Black House village, Callenish stones, plus a day on Isle of Harris. We found the White House nicely located for easy access to those places. Actually there are some pleasant walks and photo opportunities to be found by walking out the door, the ocean is just a few hundred yards away.

Very quiet and private with a kind of "remote" feel we liked, yet it's an easy drive from Stornaway over good roads. Very clean, bright, attractive room with lots of excellent photos on the walls. Lots of thoughtful details such as fridge, snacks, good wifi access, adequate power outlets to keep camera batteries charged.

Breakfast was really good with lots of choices, everything we had was delicious. Couldn't ask for better or more thoughtful hosts. If we ever have the good fortune to return to Isle of Lewis we'd stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our last stay on our trip north along the islands which started in Barra. We could not fault any of the B & B's that we stayed and The White House was no exception. In fact it was the best value of all. Well located for all the wonderful historic sites along Lewis's west coast, we particularly enjoyed our visit to the Iron Age house on Greater Bernera. The guide had just lit the peat fire and candles as we arrived giving it incredible atmosphere. A fellow photographer David was happy to offer up some of the locations he had enjoyed and for which I was grateful. I would have missed St Moluag's Church had he not suggested it. This for me was a little gem of a photographic opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights late August. Its almost at the Northern tip of the island and about 20 minutes drive from Stornoway, across featureless bog land. The villages along the North coast are very quiet , although there are a few historic sites to see. Big tips are if you are there (and this applies to the island as a whole) on a Friday or saturday night then make sure you book a restaurant, but if you are there on a Sunday make sure you buy some food the day before as the whole place shuts down - which isn't great for the tourist trade. Anyway, the White House is a very comfy B&B with two rooms. The owners are very friendly and have thought of just about everything anyone staying would need. Highly recommended if you are thinking of visiting this part of the world

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarrentin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we really enjoyed our trip to the isle of Lewis and if we will ever come back to this isle, we will stay at this very lovely place.

There was nothing that we had to query about,
the nice little rooms were very clean
and the kitchen worked like they never did anything else for the last 1.000 years
because the breakfast was nearly from heaven.

Please do us a favor and go on like this.
->thumbs up for you! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The White House was a lucky find on the internet as it turned out to be a wonderful, warm and comfortable place to stay. The extra touches were very welcoming - home-made muffins and biscuits in the room.
Lesley and Dave were excellent hosts who provided a brilliant service and a very tasty breakfast. Thank you for helping to make our trip to Lewis so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When you're on Lewis, you feel a little like you're on the very edge of the world. However, my beautiful room in the White House B and B was amazingly modern. I can't think of another B and B or hotel with so many carefully thought out amenities. David and Leslie were welcoming and had thought of everything I could possible want for a comfortable and cozy night as the wind blasted in off the sea. I loved the comfortable bed, clean, modern, spiffy bathroom, great internet connection and even a little fridge containing fresh milk to go with the biscuits! The breakfast was lovely as well. It was indeed a bit hard to find The White House but David guided me in by cell phone like a plane landing on radar! Lewis is a wild and wonderful place and I enjoyed it even more because I had such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Upper Shader | Barvas, HS2 0RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the small crofting community of Upper Shader with the Atlantic coastline at the end of our lane, surrounded by open countryside. Our two en-suite rooms are modern in decor, airy and light with all mod cons including Netbooks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White House Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.