We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefalls Spa Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whitefalls Spa Lodges to your Saves list
Whitefalls Spa Lodges
2 Breasclete, HS2 9ED, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the website and previous reviews, I had expected something really special - wow and out of the ordinary. Yes it has a spa bath and a sauna, which you would not expect in most self-catering accommodation but...the location is very remote - fine if you dont want to leave the lodge but involves a lot of driving if you do. The view was not quite as unspoilt as the photos suggested with the half-built roof of a new house poking up on the horizon in front of the lodge we were in and there are significantly nicer parts of the island to stay on. A lovely welcome of home baking was spolit by the fact that tea, coffee and sugar were indeed provided but dont expect milk! With the big windows, the first few days were stiflingly hot inside in the sunshine with only a noisy fan to cool the place and our lodge had no outdoor seating on which you could take in the view of the bay or just enjoy the sunshine. When the weather turned, even having the heaters up full took ages to heat the place due to the high ceilings. The lack of underfloor heating anywhere except the toilet meant that the main areas always felt cold underfoot and the lack of heating in the spa bathroom meant it was so cold in the last few days that it felt unpleasant and didnt get used except for obligatory showers. The furnishing were nice but not particluarly special - like a page from a Next brochure - and the biggest disappointment was the cleanliness. There are some terrific views of sunsets to be had from the lodges but they were spoiled by filthy windows. On closing one of the blinds in the bedroom, a spider carcass fell out - not good when you have arachnaphobia - and there were dead lies caught in the blind fabric. That made me look closer and the closer I looked, the more I noticed things. There are odd numbers of dishes where breakages have not been replaced, a distinct lack of instructions on how things work as we couldnt take in all the verbal instructions given as we arrived, and take the time to look in EVERY drawer and cupboard - there is no list of amenities and you will find all sorts of things in the cupboards that we didnt know were there - like the beach towels we found the night before we left! I booked a spa treatment but when the therapist arrived, she said that the blankets/towels for the spa room had been removed so we had to make do - this was remedied by a txt in time for the second lot of treatments a few days later. In places, the lodges are looking tired, and I think that the owners need to take stock of what they have achieved so far and not rest on their laurels. We both felt it was a resl shame that the lodge had generic prints on the walls (like you get from Next) rather than using the opportunity to showcase some of the amazing art we saw on the island or even photography of some of the stunning locations around. Similarly, more use of the excellent local toiletires made on the island would have been a nice touch. From what I read in advance and what I found, I think they have let standards slip a bit and it certainly wasnt the top notch, luxurious retreat I was hoping for - it was average given it has 5 stars from Visit Scotland. On the plus side - the therapist was very good, the wifi was fast enough for most purposes and someone had helpfully recorded a selection of movies and programmes on the SKY HD box. I am sure that if you are honeymooning, you wont be looking too closely at the surroundings. When you market yourself as top end, the devil is on the detail, and in the detail, this place failed.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodge furthest down the track - it has more secluded views and an outside seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whitefalls spa lodge offers 5 star luxury in the most idyllic location.

My husband booked this as a surprise destination for our honeymoon -I think he was very nervous that stormy Stornoway would not be my dream destination... Arriving at Whitefalls spa lodge was better than I anywhere I could have imagined -and certainly lives up to previous reviews. Spotless, beautifully presented and far more spacious than any honeymoon suite a hotel could offer, with panoramic views of the hills from the well designed floor to ceiling windows. There has been real attention to detail in the decor, quality of the linen and finishing touches such as flowers and homemade cakes on arrival. It really is an incredibly special place to stay.

We were blessed with excellent weather and so spent most days out exploring Lewis and Harris - but almost wished for a rainy day for an excuse to cosy up and enjoy the facilities of this romantic retreat! Still, a candlelit spa bath and sauna after a long walk takes some beating... We really didn't want to leave.

Tip for future visitors -go and buy hand dived scallops from Dave & Julie on the jetty at Miavaig (next to the Seatrek office) -4pm daily -the freshest you will ever eat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from 7 night stay at lodges... Absolutely fantastic - everything about them stunning... From the facilities to the scenery.... Lodges have been built with quality and luxury in mind and they did not disappoint :)
Would suggest stocking up on supplies in Stornoway before arriving as location is very remote
Definitely an untouched paradise!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a fabulous time we had visiting Lewis and Harris for the first time, Staying at Whitefalls played a big part in our experience.
Even although the weather was great and we enjoyed our days out we always looked forward to returning to the lodge.
Not a lot I can add to previous reviews but I would say as good as the photographs of the lodge are they do not do it justice.
Thanks Anna and Donald.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at this beautiful island. The accommodation is located off a quiet track and from the moment you arrive you realise you are somewhere special. The lodge as you would expect is very clean and modern and very comfy for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wow! I can honestly say I have spent total QUALITY time on a BEAUTIFUL island in a 5 star LUXURIOUS accommodation for a COSY 7 days with my Newly Wedded Husband. Its a large unique lodge with the latest modern equipment and technology. The bed is to die for! The personal touches and attention to small details are lovely. Breathtaking views all around us day and night are stunning. The Spa room....well!...Hot sauna with music and rain forest shower stimulating your lethargic body or the spa tub with wonderful spa features overlooking at the morning sun across the hills plus relaxing spa mood lights for the evening is very sensual. We have driven around the coastline to visit the wonderful attractions and been on a boat trip to see the outstanding beaches, which we thoroughly enjoyed, however, we mostly stayed in and enjoyed my husbands cooking and wine in luxury. Donald the owner, also arranged for us to have a hopi ear treatment and Hot Stone Massage in the comfort of the lodge treatment room, it was nice not having to leave the lodge. We have never been so relaxed ever. Thank you Donald for providing us with our perfect Honeymoon lodge and we hope to return on our ?? anniversary.

Room Tip: Remember to stock up on shopping at Tesco's before you leave Stornoway to begin your stay, as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartarus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We learned about WhiteFalls after being returning guests at the wonderful Loch Roag Guest House over the hill, also run by the Macarthur family. These houses are absolutely beautiful and everything is brand new. The place is fully modern and equipped with everything you would need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The bathroom is just unbelievable...hot tub, sauna, and open shower...nicer than my son's entire apartment in New York City...(no offense, lad!). You could eat off the floor it was so clean and the workout room was an added bonus. My new favorite place to stay on Lewis when the wife and I get to leave the kids at home. Luxuriant stay, at a fantastic price for Lewis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitefalls Spa Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitefalls Spa Lodges

Address: 2 Breasclete, HS2 9ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Lewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to WhiteFalls Spa Lodges, an exclusive and idyllic retreat on best island in Europe as voted by Tripadvisor visitors. WhiteFalls is a luxurious haven in a truly inspirational island setting. With sumptuously sized rooms, exclusive spa in each lodge and access to some of Scotland's most stunning scenery, WhiteFalls Spa Lodges has all the ingredients for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whitefalls Spa Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitefalls Hotel Isle Of Lewis
Whitefalls Spa Lodges Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefalls Spa Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.