We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Lewis and Harris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clearview Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearview Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Clearview Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
HS2 9PT | Balallan, HS2 9PT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Lewis and Harris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very comfortable, breakfast excellent. Don't be put off if you can't book an en suite room, because the private bathroom for room 3 is enormous and very well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Lovely welcoming hosts; cosy room and bathroom; everything spotlessly clean; huge breakfast and a welcome tea tray on arrival. Endlessly kind and helpful couple; lovely views from property. Easy access.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had a great stay at Clearview, Irene was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable if a little flowery for our tastes! Room and bathroom were very clean and nice to have the option of a bath if required with plenty of spare toiletries if required. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for a days touring. Room didn't have a TV but we were invited to use the one in the lounge/dining room. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We arrived to a friendly and welcoming host and immediately offered tea and coffee, the room was spotless and comfortable, information re places to visit was very helpfull and the breakfast was excellent, our overall stay was unforgetable
Thank you very much
Anwen and John
Anglesey

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I first booked 2 night at this b&b but had to cancel the 2nd upon realizing there was no available tarbert-Uig ferry on the day of my departure. Not only that, but I arrived later than expected, and quite muddy, after scrambling too long on an improvised hill-walk in west Harris. Nevertheless -
Irene welcomed me as warm as she possibly could, with smiles and tea and bakings, and was very understanding about my cancellation and didn't charge any "fines". The room (double ensuite viewing the beautiful loch and hills) was beautifully decorated and very clean, breakfast was great, and the packed lunch was great in taste&value. I wish I could have stayed longer, and if I ever come back to the isle of Lewis - I wish I could get a room at Clearview for more than just one night (next time I will book the ferry months ahead and not wait for the last minute...). The area of Balallan is in my opinion the best looking area in Lewis, especially on the main road from tarbert to stornoway, and clearview, which is on top of a hill above the village, probably has the best spot there. Being also the cheapest b&b I found in the area (28£ ppn for ensuite room), i will strongly recommend everyone to book it if they're looking for a b&b on Lewis.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We booked Clearview at quite short notice and I can say we were extremely lucky to get such a warm and welcoming place. We arrived quite late but Irene immediately made us feel at home with coffee and a light supper. Our room was cosy and ideal for our planned(?) stay. Breakfast was definitely worth waking up for and, being toast lovers, Irene helped to increase our ever burgeoning waistlines by bringing additional slices. Although there are no TVs in the rooms (which suited us) there is a one in the comfortable lounge, in which we mainly used the free wi-fi to collate information on the main purpose of our visit.
Irene kindly provided us with a delicious packed lunch on the Sunday, including coffee (useful if you’re driving down to Harris or Scalpay at this time of year, bit of a lack of tea-rooms/cafés). She (and her husband, Norman) were also a wonderful source of information on life in general on Lewis and help guide us to a greater clarity on what we were looking for.

And you must visit the Loch Erisort Inn, which can be seen from Clearview. Not only does Geraldine make one of the best steak and ale pies I’ve ever had, she also does something with the vegetables that makes me eat them all (and the servings aren’t small). If you’re lucky, you may get a smile from Zak(?) the collie. Honest. He also answers to the name half-wit, which I think is one of the best names I’ve ever heard for a dog.

We’re intending to go back to the Lewis in the next few weeks and when we know the date I really hope Irene is able to accommodate us again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was a warm and friendly BnB and we felt at home here. Excellent hearty breakfast and lovely surroundings!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clearview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Bed & Breakfast

Address: HS2 9PT | Balallan, HS2 9PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Clearview" is in the village of Balallan,Isle of Lewis. Central location for touring Lewis and Harris. Peaceful, elevated location with panoramic views of Pairc and Harris hills. Two en-suite rooms and one room with private bathroom. Walkers and cyclists welcome, lockable storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clearview Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearview Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.