We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McTaggart Community Cyber cafe

McTaggart Community Cyber cafe
30 Mansfield Place Port Ellen | PA42 7BJ, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 restaurants in Islay
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here and highly recommend it for quality and value. It is well sign posted from the esplanade along the beachfront and the service was pleasant and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had read good reviews about this place so called in for lunch during our stay on Islay. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were lovely with our 2 year old daughter. We had fish and chips - tasty and fresh - and the service was quick. Great little place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Coffee Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were looking for a wee cafe to have a quick coffee late afternoon and followed the signs for the Cyber Cafe. We weren't disappointed with our coffees and home-made chocolate brownies. The menu looked interesting and the table of tourists seemed more than just a little pleased with the fare they'd been served by the friendly staff. Good to support a community initiative like this too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hidden ub a back alley of Port Ellen, the Cyber cafe is community run for island youths to give them a place to go when it's raining....!
The cafe is great, simple, fresh and seasonal, and just a quick look into the hall next door, with pool tables, video games, etc, I'm sure any visitors could calm a youngster for a hour or two here...!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mctaggart bistro cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bistro Restaurant. Port Ellen. Islay. Scotland PA42 7BJ
This family run restaurant is one of the most talked about restaurants on the island of Islay, Scotland, thanks to their good service, best prices and nutritious cooked-to-order good quality meals.
At lunchtime the most popular meals are nourishing soup followed by caught-that- morning fresh fish. Scallops and other sea- food are also on offer.
During early afternoon lovely home baking with tea or coffee is a must.
Delicious meals between 5pm and 7 pm include their very popular, freshly caught, haddock fish suppers. At any time during opening hours, 12pm-7pm, you can enjoy a snack or a delicious homemade hamburger.
The Bistro, open 7 days a week, seats 24 and is well worth a visit.
Phone 01493300509

Tip;
As they do not have a licence you are welcome to bring your own bottle

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McTaggart Community Cyber cafe also viewed

 
Islay, The Hebrides
 

Been to McTaggart Community Cyber cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McTaggart Community Cyber cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.