We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puffin Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staffa Trips

Staffa Trips
Tigh na Traigh, Scotland
01681 700358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Isle of Iona
Attraction details
glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Puffin Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This all day trip is outstanding, for the 3 isle excursion itself, now for isles having hardly anything on them the staffa trip is amazing from leaving oban over the ferry to craignure you board the bus which takes you to fionnphort the whole journey is described by the driver who knows all knowledge of the area and even stops to point out wildlife when its close by. Once you go onto the smaller staffa ferry they take you out to fingals cave on the way here you'll see seals, dolphins and low flying ducks. The boats backs up to the entrance of the cave and gives you plenty of opportunity for photos. Once you leave the cave youre heading to staffa to see the puffins this part of the journey should be longer as you only get an hour and be sure take a packed lunch the puffins like to show off flying close and you can get within 3ft for fantastic photos. after leaving staffa youre taken to iona for 2hrs plenty time to grab a lunch and visit the abbey before heading back. This excursion is well worth the money £55 the staff are friendly, knowledgable and patient certainly I will return next season.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staffa and the Trenish Isles tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fantastic trip to view the sealife and birds off the coast. Our trip started with dolphins playing in the harbour as we boarded the boat in Fionnphort. They continued to escort us as we got out to sea and launched themselves into the air in a fabulous acrobatic display. After a 35 min journey we were at Lundy, with the hope of seeing the nesting puffins amongst other birds. Our excitement turned to worry as we saw that where we were to disembark, was literaly just the boulder strew beach. Nothing to hang on to, just huge boulders, wet, some with seaweed, and not always very stable. Most people were fine, and sprang like mountain goats from rock to rock, but there were many others, like us, who found this part of the trip really daunting. Carrying cameras and backpacks, there were moments that I truly thought I would fall and its took alot of time and effort to finally get to the more grass covered area. Then a steep walk up the side of the cliff, again, with no handrail to help or steady us. I know that the object of visiting this beautiful place is to see it untouched, but with the amount of tourists visiting each day, I think a small walkway created with a few handrails would not go amis. This was the only negative thing I can say about the trip, the rest was just amazing. Seeing puffins so close was a complete joy, they are truly the most captivating, characterful, charming little birds, showing no fear at all of humans. The views were spectacular and our time with them was priceless. The journey down and then over the rocks to the boat was again, pretty awful, but even after that, we would go again in a heartbeat, even risking a broken limb or two! Staffa has a much safer landing area and it was great to visit the famous Fingals Cave. There were a few puffins there, but Lundy was much better for seeing the Puffins.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A great half day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent a half day on this tour which also picks up passengers at Fionnphort. It takes about 45 minutes to get out to Staffa, leaves you for about an hour and then brings you back.
The island is formed of massive basalt rocks, like the Giant's Causeway in Ireland. It is home to Fingal's Cave, a magical place (which had a sea otter swimming in it when we were there) and to puffin rookeries. When we were there the puffins had babies in their holes and it was explained to us that although they were on the water down below fishing, if they saw people they'd probably come up to feed their chicks knowing that bigger birds would be frightened off by us. And so it happened and we were delighted to see dozens of these lovely birds at close proximity.
The island requires a reasonable level of fitness - there's a steep climb to get to the rookeries and you have to step around to the cave on the basalt blocks, although there is a handrail. However the tour operator will pick you up earlier if you only want to go to the cave.
Mr Kirkpatrick who takes the tour has great local knowledge and spends quite a bit of time with his passengers talking to them and explaining about the wildlife and its habits. On our way back he spotted a whale and spent a good ten minutes of unscheduled time following it as it swam between the island.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Boat Trip to Geological Magnificence- 8th WOW? with Puffins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Being someone who is frequently seasick- impressed with steady nature of small boats captainsy to see the yawning Mendolsohn point of inspiration. Very exciting on land too- to walk right up to the grand structure itself via special ppainted non-slip surfaces on hexagonal plugs using 1 side only -guide metal rope. The rock geometery and force written in the rock formations is quite humbling (+ the thunderous echo-ing of the sea). You can take a haunting wonder after via steep stairs on the top of the cliff , through beautiful spring flowers -so across part of the abandoned island . We did this whilst the ship crew were reckying, to see if spring puffins had arrived yet. We were very lucky -they had and taken to see charming birds, playing in the the water about the boat.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wondrous Glimpse of Nature"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I took the boat ride from Iona knowing only that the photos we had seen were interesting. What we saw is one of those natural creations that is both beautiful a little mysterious. The trip itself is spectacular...the water was beyond blue and the views view stunning. The island itself is a not-so-difficult walk around the base to Fingal's cave and then to the top up rock stairs. Once on top, we enjoyed gazing at the surrounding islands and were sorry to leave. Dress for chilly/windy weather!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staffa Trips also viewed

Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
 
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Staffa Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staffa Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.