We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bite to eat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argyll Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Iona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Argyll Hotel
Isle of Iona, PA76 6SJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Isle of Iona
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bite to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent one day on Iona. We called in at the hotel for a light lunch and were not disappointed. I had the soup, lamb and pearl barley, which was wholesome and tasty. My wife had a huge scone which she happily devoured. We were delighted with the food and would love to go to this beautiful island and try some more from the menu.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Roger, Thanks for taking the time to comment, and I am glad that you and your wife were so satisfied! Please do come back and have a full meal next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Probably the best place to eat on the island - first time I've eaten nasturtiams on my food too! Staff are just brilliant, couldn't do more for you. Our room was a bit on the small side, but the decent bathroom made up for it, even if it lacked a shower. Apparently this is one of the improvements they're planning. Short walk from the ferry too, bearing in mind there are no cars allowed on the island. Would be better if there was wifi in the rooms, especially as there are no tvs in the rooms (which is a good thing if you're going to Iona, it's the perfect place for getting away from life for a while).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for this great review Awooga! I am very pleased that the food appealed to you so much. I will also pass on your comments to the staff. The wi-fi offering has increased this year and we will eventually put it throughout I expect. As for showers, yes we would like all rooms to have them (though not all can with out remodelling the whole room) and more will get them this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a very disappointing stay inOban this is just magical . It has such a homely feel , warm and welcoming and sipping the tea and coffee in the conservatory overlooking the bay is a treat. With stormy weather not inviting us outside you can enjoy the 4 lounges with the wonderful range of books. Our room overlooks the sound of Iona so we can watch the activity on the water. The food is delicious - even homemade yoghurt, jams and stewed fruit. The vegetables come from their own kitchen garden. The hosts and staff are extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about Iona.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Penny, I am glad that we were able to make your stay so pleasurable. Holidays ought to be good memories so I am glad that we stuck out as one of them. Our garden also appeals to many visitors with its range of produce, though it cannot supply all our needs. Our chefs enjoy using such fresh produce to create their dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel recently with two American friends. We had the apartment overlooking the harbour. The warmth and friendliness of the female assistant manager (recently arrived from South Africa) makes the experience very worthwhile. Luckily she persuaded us to have dinner at the hotel and we had a memorable meal beautifully decorated with edible flowers served by a man of Kent who was delightful.
There are comfortable sitting rooms and more books that a stay of six months could satisfy. I just wish we could have stayed longer. I enjoyed the home made shortbread & coffee in the garden and they had even arranged the most fabulous weather.
The sunset and sunrise walk to the Abbey was very special especially as I discovered the short cut through the vegetable garden. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am so pleased that you and your American friends found the hotel so appealing. Good weather is always a bonus and I am glad that it worked so well for you all. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Argyll at the end of July and would return tomorrow. Our room overlooking the harbour was perfect with a recently renovated en suite including sweet details such as the locally produced soap. Despite other comments we found the service extremely friendly and always responsive reflecting an inclusive culture which prevails at the hotel (as a gay couple travelling in smaller population areas this is sadly not always the case). We took all our meals at the hotel as the food was exceptional as is the extensive wine list. If trekking across the island ask for a packed lunch - the sandwiches on ocean beaches reflected the quality of meals at the hotel with the added bonus of Iona shores. Whilst the wifi was patchy at times this was expected given the location of this beautiful place and in no way reflected on the hotel; this complemented our stay as a key element of the appeal of Iona is the absence of white noise. I look forward to a return one day soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It is lovely to hear that we are achieving what we intend to with the welcome and service. Your kind comments help us to know we are getting things right and are a reward in themselves. We look forward to you returning some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

An excellent hotel. Wonderful food and room. We particularly enjoyed the homemade shortbread.The staff were very friendly and caring. A special mention for Tommy who was an first rate front of house, as well as the two very knowlegable gardeners who very kindly gave us a tour of the organic garden. This is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Foodies, Thanks for such a wonderful write up! I hope the garden will have some more treats to reveal next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lovely hotel. The Argyll has a lovely frontal view over to the other isles, with the ferry port a literal 5minute walk, if that! If you wish to be able to sit in the front gardens with the above view, you can. They also have a wonderful organic garden at the back, which as a guest you can have a guided tour from Lesley & Mark the gardeners, or amble around it yourself. The owners Wendy & Rob are lovely hosts, who do everything they can to make your stay pleasant and charming. The staff are all friendly and will help in any way possible. A lovely touch for us was the champagne we were given compliments of Wendy & Rob, to celebrate our marriage. If you are visiting Iona I would recommend The Argyll to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Angi and Steve, thank you for your wonderful review - it is very much appreciated! We certainly do enjoy making the holiday as relaxed as possible, and it is good to know that it had its effect on you both. I hope the rest of your honeymoon was equally wonderful. We get back onto mains power tonight if all goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: Isle of Iona, PA76 6SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Iona
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Isle of Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an owner run small hotel on the stunning Isle of Iona. Fresh local and seasonally changing menu. Fully Licensed and open to non residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Isle Of Iona
Argyll Hotel Scotland/Isle Of Iona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Argyll Hotel to your Saves list