We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitude of bar staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Forth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forth Inn
Save
You added Forth Inn to your Saves list
Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bad attitude of bar staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My Partner and I called into this pub while on holiday in Aberfoyle .
First impressions were good with a very good selection of real ale the first pint was well served and a FULL PINT however i had a second pint served by someone else who did not give a full measure i let the beer settle but it was well short so i asked for the pint to be topped up;
The person grabbed the pint of beer and pulled a face and then slammed it back on the bar, as im a member of CAMRA i found this a very bad attitude indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Markinch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I organised a surprise weekend away for my wife's birthday and booked 5 of the 6 rooms for ourselves and our friends.
On arrival we were greeted cheerfully by Phil who spotted straight away I was a fellow photographer and a rapport was instantly begun.
Our rooms were spotless (better than some 4 star hotels I've stayed in!) and the bed was king sized and really comfortable.
The food was delicious (I had the famous steak pie one night and tortellini the next, and the breakfasts were wonderful too) and for our birthday meal we were set up in the log fire dining room with dimmed lights and candles which created a great atmosphere. The staff put up birthday banners for us and looked after us admirably.
Nothing was too much trouble for Phil and his staff.
Oh, and there was a selection of real ale which really pleased the men in our group!!!
In short, I'd thoroughly recommend a stay!

Room Tip: I had room 3, great bed and modern t.v.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a good sunday roast on 30 sept,2 massive slices of beef with all the trimmings.
Excellent menu to choose from.
Complimentary newspapers at the bar.
Friendly staff and served very quickly.
Great atmosphere in a real country pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Everything you could want in a country pub. Wonderful food, an environment that is older than. You. Local, stories, people being greated by name. We can on a small bus tour, Hairy Coo, and all of th tour loved the food.

Room Tip: On,y ate there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed hear on a very quick business trip. don't expect the last in luxury but its an honest small town hotel.

Large clean and comfortable room. First class evening meal and excellent value. Very pleasant and welcoming hosts who were happy to serve my breakfast 1/2 hour before usual opening to let me on my way.

Oh and what a breakfast!!! the works- freshly cook and served with fantastic haggis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were on a day tour of the highlands (Hairy Coo Tour, highly recommended!) and stopped for lunch at Aberfoyle. She had researched it on TA and said best place was the Gathering Place at the Forth Inn. Turns out that's actually a big room for weddings, etc. But Forth Inn does have a pub and a dining room - chose the latter. Draught beer for me, a 'wee wine' for her. The Forth's famous Steak pies all around. Very, very good. We were in a rush, but servers were attentive and got us out in plenty of time to catch our tour. Prices reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfoyle, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Food here is always excellent, and the menu changes regularly. We stay in the village but still eat here a lot as it is consistently great. The staff are grand and the choice of purely Scottish produced ales, lagers and even a stout is awesome.
We've also stayed over once or twice before we moved here, rooms are comfy and clean and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.