We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forth Inn
Save
You added Forth Inn to your Saves list
Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Glasgow Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a great meal in the Inn today, full Scottish Breakfast, first time I have had haggis included in my breakfast, but it was really tasty and I am told all produce is sourced from the local butcher,the staff were very friendly and attentive, first time in Aberfoyle, but would be back, the weather wasn't great, but on a great day, the scenery would be magnificent

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived very late on a very wet icy afternoon on bicycle (with a puncture). Very hospitable, laid back and allowed us to keep our bikes in a hall. They offered to help us fix our bike and helped us dry out all of our very wet clothing. Fantastic food (great portion sizes), comfy room and piping hot shower!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed up by Loch Katrine for a week and was made very welcome on all our visits to the pub for meals and drinks during our stay. The pub is very clean and well stocked with various drinks. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. We (as in two couples and a standard poodle!) was made to feel very welcome. The bar menu is extensive and it seems no trouble to cook the the dishes as you require or to cook something not on the menu providing they have it in the kitchen. We didnt use the restaurant, function room or b&b but all looked very pleasent from what we saw.
Our biggest thanks ges out to the pub for giving us shelter, hot drinks and a hot meal when we couldnt get back to the holiday cottage due to floods on the road. We was made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We would seriously recommend a visit to The Forth Inn and we would consider staying here on another trip to the Trossach area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Fearing that we'd get snowed in, stayed here for one night having previously had dinner - they'd had the same power-cut the rest of the area had had and only got the power back that evening. They were happy to take us in at 11pm, and our wee dog. Nice room, clean and warm, and lovely breakfast.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I spent four days here in September. We were not surprised that the pub has won awards for its friendly bar. The atmosphere was indeed welcoming, and the beer was good too. The dinners and breakfast were great, the room was super and so was the bathroom. The staff were wothout exception cheerful and helpful. The location of the pub was great for the Trossachs.

Room Tip: Just ask. We did our booking over the phone and were very pleased with what we were offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We switched from our first reservation as they didn't allow pets and we have just acquired a rescue dog which came with us on holiday to Skye. We were using the Forth as a Friday night stopover and were really please with our choice.
We were received very warmly and offered a hand with luggage. Although dogs are not allowed into the restaurant the bar is also used for serving food and we sat there within the atmosphere of the pub. Real ales, very friendly and attentive staff and an excellent menu with brilliant food. The atmosphere was great; a credit to Tristran and his staff.
The whole experience at the Forth was excellent and we will certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 if you want a balcony with separate access from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I went to the Forth Inn at the weekend and cannot recommend it highly enough the food was lovely and the staff also very friendly, would recommend it !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.