We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Journey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Aberfoyle
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Journey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having just got back from the first Lochs and Glens holiday....just have to say amazed at the value for money, food was excellent and staff were tremndous, it was a 13 hour journey but well worth going for, the transport was by Coliseum Coaches of Southampton and the driver Garry was an amazing star of the tour, his knowledge, care and courtesy made the tour even more of a pleasure, nothing was ever too much trouble for him.....highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms overlook Loch Achray
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
130
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a good time was had by all. Electric failed on Tuesday but Elaine was onto the company asap. Kept us updated throughout the evening, had dinner by candlelight :-) She worked a very long shift that day and still stayed cheerful

Would also like to give a big thank you to the waiter (i think is name was Dave), marked my menu with what could eat (am coeliac). All staff were friendly and helpful

Our driver Tony was really good as well, loads of knowledge about where we went and a excellent driver.

Will go back again if not this hotel but one of the others. Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday

Room Tip: Was on the ground floor, noisy people above though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from my 1st Lochs & Glen holiday. The 13 hour journey north was well worth it. The hotel is in a fabulous location, my bedroom (a single) although small had everything I needed, a modern bathroom and a flat screen television and a wonderful view looking out over the loch and the cattle. The bed was comfortable, the food was excellent, the staff attentive (didn't see the housekeeping staff at all - they appeared whilst at breakfast and then again after we had gone out) but the room was kept spotless and our driver Garry was an absolute gem, his knowledge of the local area made our trips out very intersting so thank you everyone at Loch Achray for a lovely break in bonnie Scotland

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just return from Scotland loch achray went with lochs and glens every thing right from the coach pick up was really good Tony the driver was very knowledgableand told us a lot about the area we were visiting .the hotel was clean and the room was comfortable my niece has a special diet and the head waiter in dining room when he found out used to Mark the menu so she knew what she could eat .special thanks to Elaine the manager who was Brilliant on Monday evening when we had a power cut eating dinner by candle light was good staff carried on not fazed at all thank you to all the staff for making my holiday very enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from loch achray,what a fantastic break,staff great ,meals great, location great,hotel itself great,loved every minute, the room was clean tidy and ample for what we needed,so a big thank you to the staff and of course lochs and glens. Best bunch of staff and mangers we have ever come across.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

had a wonderfull 5 days at this hotel,decorators on the outside but didn't bother us at all,lovely grounds as usual and some lovely walks too,food as usual for lochs and glens plentyfull and lovely and hot, waiter service was very good,rooms comfortable,although the t.v could do with some updating as could the evening entertainment,but a good walk is better for you after a full dinner.. woukd recommend this hotel very welcoming staff very well run and very clean and always eager to help must mention dave the driver well done dave good job !!

Room Tip: book top floor and loch view,,, floor boards very squeaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Wife and I, on our 2nd L&G holiday chose "Scottish Royal Tour", perfect from start to finish!.
Picked up on time, with a comfortable coach for our journey North. no feeder coaches with this company, as with others, on and off, changing bags over etc;. our Tour Driver "Dave" took the coach over at Spalding and from then on a very smooth transfer to the venue, the hotel was staffed by a multitude of International staff, all very friendly, very capable, and a pleasure to meet.
The room was nice, with wonderful views, the room was cared for each morning, and beautifully turned out, very clean. The food was very good, with a very agreeable menu.
Our driver "Dave proved a fountain of knowledge, with an obvious love of his job and a proven capability for carrying it out fully. we thought he would be hard to beat, but, on his day off we were at the hands of "Tracy" who proved his equal, both in knowledge and capability.
This was truly a great few day's ,in good company, and more important "In good safe hands".
This is a company that have got it right in every respect. Thank you to all staff who made this a memorable trip.

Room Tip: we were at the front, first floor, with a very good view of the Loch and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Achray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loch Achray Hotel to your Saves list