We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for exploring the Trossachs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good base for exploring the Trossachs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Big character property set in lovely gardens with a scenic backdrop. Bedroom was large and comfortable, no in-room TV but there is a large first floor guest lounge with great views and tea and biscuits. Owner recommened an evening walk around nearby Loch Ard which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this cute B&B.
The owners were very friendly and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
They tried to accomodate our specific wishes in regards to breakfast and the food was lovely.
The house is beautifully decorated and has a cosy feeling to it.
The rooms were big and the bed comfortable.
Another big plus is the location in one of the most gorgeous areas of Scotland.
The nature is just stunning.
One of our nicest trips was a steam boat ride on Loch Katerine.
We rented bikes, took them with us on the boat and rode back around the loch.
The views are amazing.
For the adventurous there's the goape tree climbing park right next door.
They have a 426 m long steel wire which let's you feel like a bird almost flying over a green valley.
Great fun.
Not too far away you can go back to medieval times when visiting one of the 100s of years old castles.
Doune I'd definitely recommend.
All in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was my first visit to Stoneypark bed and breakfast and it won’t be my last. It is a little piece of heaven set in a wonderful location with views to die for. The bedroom was lovely with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The owners were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them even though we didn’t get back till 1am. It was great to stay somewhere where nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

A very nice B & B in a quiet period house. Handy for the Trossachs. Reasonable price for a large room (albeit with shared facilities). Good food nearby in the Forth Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Day 1: No hot water. Yelled at each other complaining about me saying there is no hot water - I could hear it all clearly. After 30 mins of testing they realised I was telling the truth and got out a plumber to fix.
Have to tell them each time I wanted a shower so they could put the booster on.
Must be in before 12pm. They will NOT provide you with a key to let yourself in.
No TV provided in room or anywhere else in the house. Shared bathroom with owners. They got crappy when some water left on the floor from shower.
No access to kitchen, fridge, microwave etc. Took a peek at the kitchen one night and it was a mess. Decided not to eat their prepared meals after that and got my own breakfast.
Owners took over TV room on ground floor and watched TV loudly, yelled to each other loudly, the phone rang loudly so got no privacy, peace and quiet.
Room not heated during the night so froze. Ended up with chest infection. Little heating provided is minimal so had to wear thick heavy coat with extra layers all the time and to bed.
Couldn't walk to the bathroom in a towel or just in pj's without a coat as no privacy. Whenever walked in they popped their head out of TV room and asked invasive questions e.g. where I had been, who I was with. When I went to leave every time they asked when I was going to be back etc. Felt like I was 12 years old and living with parents!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast

Address: Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Stoneypark Bed And Breakfast Aberfoyle, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneypark Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.