We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hamilton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel last weekend & our experience was fantastic. The hotel is in a brilliant location & has ample free parking, the rooms were clean, bright & well equipped. We stayed in an accessible room & it catered so well for our needs. The staff were incredibly friendly & nothing was too much trouble for them. Great selection of food at breakfast & plenty of tables for guests to sit at, which is always a big plus. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough & we hope to stay again soon.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    129
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
79
64
20
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here after a night out. Overall, we had a great experience. The staff were lovely. Couldn't fault the room - very clean. We went for breakfast about 10am - the food wasn't as hot as it could have been, however we did go down towards the end of serving time. I would definately stay again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Pull out sofa bed means 4 people can fit in a room instead of the advised max of 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay with us - it is always good to know that the work that the team are doing is paying off with our guests.

Not quite sure why the breakfast was not as hot as it should have been, we obviously monitor the temperatures of the food and we will have a look back at the procedures to make sure things are spot on.

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackemtripper
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed at countless hotels of this type in various places all over the world. HIE specialises in providing a place to stay for the budget conscious. That doesn't mean that the establishment can't excel at doing "the ordinary" extremely well as our stay here proved.

Situated in an unusual location at the end of a shopping centre with ASDA, NEXT, a cinema and various restaurants as its neighbours I was a little leery when we first arrived having to scour the large parking lot for a place to park. The hotel doesn't have its own car park but has parking available for guests in the Eurocar lot for the shopping centre. Unusual but it probably works better than when we arrived with the Christmas shoppers on a Saturday afternoon.

Staff were extremely attentive, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. Lynsey who was on the check in had us sorted out in seconds and was on hand to provide us with dishes when we wanted to heat our own food for dinner.

Breakfast was extremely good and when supplies ran out they were replenished quickly. It was as good a breakfast as I have ever had in a cheaper hotel. Sausage, eggs and beans Great coffee, fresh fruit, yoghurt and good muffins. Restaurant area is really pleasant and spacious. Free newspapers too. The Hamilton HIE is a real gem and the staff here are doing an exceptional job in everything they do. Rooms are basic, but that was all my son and I needed for a good night's sleep. Clean and well maintained. Exceptionally good value and top notch in all respects. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you mackemtripper for the feedback on your stay with us and for the kind words and comments too.

You have captured many of the pleasing aspects of the hotel and hopefully we will be able to see you back with us again soon, as we have plans afoot to improve the hotel some more under our new ownership.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As with all Express hotels it's a standard offering but as usual the staff make it and the folks here were well up to the usual excellent HIE standard. Paring can be challenging at busy times but on the other hand there is a lot of entertainment on site. Room was a bit tired - sofa bed quite stained and an old CRT tv with very limited channels

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH2O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Viewlander,


Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Express, Hamilton and specifically thank you for your generous words about the staff. As a team we take pride in offering the best of service and try where ever possible to exceed the guest’s expectations.
I am disappointed that the accommodation on this instance has let the hotel down, but with a positive attitude I am delighted to tell you, that between now and next spring we are regenerating the bedrooms and lobby; fresh paint, new flat screen televisions, new mattresses, new sofa beds and better sound proofing throughout.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express, Hamilton version 2.0 and sharing some of the improvements with you.

Kind Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location with large asda, cinema, boots, next, jd sports and several food outlets all within walking distance.

Breakfast was average, I've had better in other holiday inn express before. Tv in room was from the 80s :-)

In general a good location and an ok hotel at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH2O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kevin H

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Express, Hamilton and thank you for your kind words about the location.
We agree that having so many facilities on the door step such as, cinema, restaurants and Country Park is a bonus.
I am sorry however that you found the breakfast to be below par compared to some of the other hotels within the chain. Whilst we all offer the same inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options, the choice of the food supplier does vary from hotel to hotel, so I shall pass on your thoughts on quality.
I can see where you’re coming from with 80's big box CRT televisions, thankfully between now and next spring we are having a regeneration programme, with fresh paint, new flat screen televisions and new furnishings across all floors. We will no longer be stuck in the 80’s time warp. I look forward to welcoming you next time you stay with us and thank you once again for choosing Holiday Inn Express, Hamilton.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mt wife and I stayed overnight 21 November 2014 Warm Welcome on arrival by Mark who did everything to make our stay comfortable He has a pleasant personality and excels himself to welcome you Freshly prepared room and a good mattress (thanks) Limited choice of cooked breakfast but enough to start the day Pleasant staff who constantly replenished the servery

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks James for the feedback and kind remarks on your stay at the hotel - not sure if it was myself who you refer to, as there are three Mark's within our team, but I will say thank you on behalf of my namesakes.

We have recently changed ownership and are looking forward to improving the hotel further over the coming months, so hopefully your next stay will be even more enjoyable

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

STayed here as part of a large group we where made welcome .. rooms just ok nothing very notable . Bathroom was spotless... breakfast was fine .. cinema and shops very close by some good resturants aswell ...this is good for there is no resturant in the hotel but they letu order in which i thought was a great idea ... a pleasent stay was had by all

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH2O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Kerry Belfast

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express, Hamilton and taking the time to review us.
The hotel is in an excellent location with a multitude of shops, restaurants and a cinema within walking distance as well as free parking, so I'm glad your stay was enjoyed by all.
As you mentioned we do allow takeaway to be ordered and eaten in the great room, we even provide plates, cutlery and napkins, but we also offer an evening bar menu throughout the week as well as a pizza menu for those who want something faster.
Since you stay with us, we have went have changed some products, so we now have Budweiser, Stella Artois 4% & Boddington's on draught,
Hope you can join us for a beer & pizza on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Address: Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With FREE WiFi throughout whole hotel and completely non smoking, the Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, has a tremendously convenient location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. The inclusive Breakfast is a Continental breakfast with some hot items makes good value even better! The hotel is located in Hamilton town centre, and has free parking available adjacent to the hotel, as well as offering a selection of attractions within walking distance of the hotel, and is only two minutes drive to the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. Holiday Inn Express Hamilton is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. If you are looking for some leisure activities, then we are only minutes away from Strathclyde Country Park. The hotel is well located for Scotland s three international airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Glasgow is only 23 miles away on the motorways and Prestwick can be reached in about 45 minutes, while Edinburgh is approximately 50 minutes. In the hotel we have a fantastic, bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, use the Wifi, have a drink from the bar, or even just meet up with some colleagues. If you wish a private meeting, we have a selection of three meeting rooms all with floor to ceiling windows and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.