We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hamilton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I wish to thank the staff for a warm welcome and friendly service, although my stay was only for one night, it was very satisfying. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast was self service and there was a good choice. I booked in advance and got a great tariff. The quality for the price was very good. I would stay again....... Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi "Lassie" (from Glasgow I presume?)

Thank you for the kind remarks and feedback which you have given - it is always nice to read such positive remarks and I hope you have had a good start to the New Year!

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    130
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
79
65
20
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Came to spend Christmas with my daughter's in-laws and Aunt Moira and I used the hotel as an annex to their house which was full.

We enjoyed our stay very much. No complaints at all. The hotel was very conveniently situated,lovely and modern with an excellent breakfast.The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The taxis back to the hotel at night were also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Alice, (and Moira)

It was great to be able to provide you with accommodation whilst up to visit the rest of the family over Christmas, and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on here.

Thanks also for mentioning the team in the hotel - it was our pleasure to see you both and hopefully we will see you again soon,

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is modern and in good condition, room was good value at around £50.00 and the hotel is in a great location in Hamilton. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and overall this is a good place to stay, especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you TravellerXK for giving us your feedback - delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon,

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Having a night out in Hamilton to attend wasn't sure where to stay over, was really glad we choose this hotel. Was really easy to find as you can't miss it when you come of the M74 motorway. Parking is in the retail park at the front of the hotel, simply register when you arrive. Staff where very friendly and helpful from start to finish. Room was spacious spotlessly clean and nice and warm. Our night out was central in Hamilton, yet only had about a eight minute walk from the hotel. Enjoyed breakfast in the morning which was well cooked. Hotel was great value for the money we paid would go back if ever staying over in Hamilton

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi William

Thank you for the review of the hotel following your recent stay with us and the kind remarks that you have shared concerning the team and the overall stay.

Our aim is to provide great value through the hotel product including so many free items such as parking, breakfast, the Wifi in public areas (and in the whole hotel from 10th January), so it is nice when people tell us when they agree with that sentiment.

Hopefully you will have reason to come back to the area and stay with us again in the future,

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was of good size and very clean. The reception / bar was very pleasant to sit in. On the downside, and probably being picky, although as a single person I was charged nearly £50 per night, - the room had no air con so needed to leave the window open over night. Hence the night was disturbed by noises from the kitchen, very loud music from a local club and also the revellers leaving said club. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom, surprising given the age of the building. The tv was a large cumbersome thing in the corner, with only free basic channels, and a charge levied for music channels/movies etc. Free wifi was only available in the reception area. Breakfast was ok, but the only hot food was sausage, beans and scrambled eggs.

I suspect that I paid more being a single traveller, but really don,t feel i got my monies worth

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi "Colwyn10"

Thank you for your feedback on the recent stay that you had with us and for your kind comments upon the staff and your bedroom.

In terms of the free breakfast, the aim is to provide a consistent product across all of the Holiday Inn Express hotels and as such, the three hot items are indeed the sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans. As it is always a buffet style service, it is hoped that the choice of the hot items along with the cereals, breads, fruits, yoghurts and drinks, allows for our guests to choose what they are looking for, be it a quick bite or a more extensive choice.

The WiFi , which as you rightly say, it currently only free and available in the public areas, will be extended to provide free WiFi across the whole hotel during the first full week in January, so hopefully by Friday 10th, we will be able to provide it free in our bedrooms as well as the public areas.

I hope that you had a pleasant journey home and hope that your next stay will represent better value for you

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am responsible for the booking of all Hotel rooms for our staff on sites throughout the country. I have been booking rooms for site staff at the Holiday Inn Hotel Hamilton over a number of years whilst working on various sites in Scotland. The reception staff are always pleasant, cheerful and very helpful even though the bookings can change on a daily basis. i.e, change of personnel, length of stay etc. As for the lads who stay there they always ask specifically to stay in this Hotel if they are working in the vicinity. I can always rest assured that if I book rooms here, everything will go as planned. Well done to all the staff, you make my job very easy and I look forward to carrying out future business with you.
Anne @ JRM

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Anne,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your experiences of the hotel - it is our pleasure to look after them as their home from home.

It's always good to speak with you, and see the guys in the hotel, so here's to a great festive break for everyone and seeing you all in the New Year.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business for around 7 weeks and the staff were exceptional. Had to move rooms half way through my stay due to injuring myself, and it was the staff that saw me hobbling in one afternoon who offered to change me rooms to one with better access and more accessible facilities without me even asking. They also helped me most mornings with gathering my breakfast and just generally went out of their way to make sure I was looked after.

The first room was excellent but the second left me feeling a little underwhelmed with a gigantic stain on the floor which made you stick to it if you didn't step carefully. The room just felt like it had been neglected a little and made the second half of my stay not as pleasant but by no means horrible.

All in all though the staff and their quality service out weigh the average second rooms problems. Good stay all in all.

Oh and no bacon with the breakfast should be a crime!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks Mr. Fletcher for sharing your comments on the time you had with us recently - given the length of time you were with us, it is good to read that you found the team to be exceptional.

My apologies for the issues with the second room you were in, I shall have this looked into and addressed. In terms of the bacon, this is something we are looking into, however, at present, we are limited to having sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans as the hot items within the free breakfast, however, I do believe that the choice of items is being considered within our brand team, so fingers crossed!

I hope that your leg has recovered and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon,

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Address: Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With FREE WiFi throughout whole hotel and completely non smoking, the Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, has a tremendously convenient location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. The inclusive Breakfast is a Continental breakfast with some hot items makes good value even better! The hotel is located in Hamilton town centre, and has free parking available adjacent to the hotel, as well as offering a selection of attractions within walking distance of the hotel, and is only two minutes drive to the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. Holiday Inn Express Hamilton is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. If you are looking for some leisure activities, then we are only minutes away from Strathclyde Country Park. The hotel is well located for Scotland s three international airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Glasgow is only 23 miles away on the motorways and Prestwick can be reached in about 45 minutes, while Edinburgh is approximately 50 minutes. In the hotel we have a fantastic, bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, use the Wifi, have a drink from the bar, or even just meet up with some colleagues. If you wish a private meeting, we have a selection of three meeting rooms all with floor to ceiling windows and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.