We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always hits the mark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Carrigan's Eating House

John Carrigan's Eating House
3 Birkhill Road, Hamilton ML3 8 BG, Scotland
+44 1698 285990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: .
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always hits the mark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have been here many times probably more than any restaurant in Hamilton. Very good at what it does and I use it for a lot of work lunches because the folks always want to come here. Good menu, good food and well prepared. Service excellent. Never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    81
    36
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Usually I don't focus one one staff members attitude if the rest are okay but sadly I cannot say one member of staff out of the 4 who served us were friendly or we'll trained. I myself work in hospitality and was horrified by the poor service and attitudes.

What's the point of a service, bill and manger button on the table if it doesn't work

Food was great good flavours, only thing is portion sizes of starter was too much)

My partner had only drank 3/4 of his beer and asked for another. The waitress (if you could call her that) took his current beer grunted and walked off. Didn't offer me a drink.

First waiter to seat us gave us a menu and immediately asked what we wanted to drink. I wasn't give a drink menu so my order was a shot in the dark. Asked what I wanted to eat then said I don't have a pen walked off and sent someone else over.

Waited around for the dessert menu while 3 members of staff chatted amongst themselves.

On exiting 4 members of staff were near the door not one acknowledge us said goodbye or thank you.

Absolute rubbish service. Won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good pub grub with lots of choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Visited today after looking at comments on Trip Advisor and fancying somewhere different than usual Glasgow haunts.
Arrived just before 1pm and place was mobbed. Despite that seated quickly and drinks order taken immediately.
Service was prompt and efficient and portions were good. Not sure of the dip that accompanied the haggis bon bons - seemed to be more like pineapple relish. Seemed a bit of a strange choice but was ok. For main course I had scampi and my friend had a steak which despite asking for medium rare was very bloody although he said was perfectly ok. Finished off with a malteser sundae and tablet sundae, both were good although mine was lacking in malteser.
Can say that I've been but wouldn't rush to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“better than usual pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although the menu sounds as if the food is standard pub fare, what appears on the table is a lot better but the prices are fairly standard. Service is good ...even when the place is heaving. And the selection of whiskies extremely good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely food, big portions, decent priced and friendly staff...what more could you ask for??

Not met anybody that does'nt like this place. Can't wait for my next monthly visit which should be weekly :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Carrigan's Eating House also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to John Carrigan's Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Carrigan's Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.