We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Carrigan's Eating House

John Carrigan's Eating House
3 Birkhill Road, Hamilton ML3 8 BG, Scotland
+44 1698 285990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: .
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my partner went on a saturday evening for a meal and drinks. Great atmosphere and fantastic food!! We were told the portions were big so we just shared a starter which was more than enough. Excellent place for food and drinks and we will definitely go back with the kids! Would recommend booking though as we just got lucky with a cancellation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    81
    36
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My dad treats all my family for breakfast on a Sunday morning for over 2 years now its a places were can all catch up and relaxe.

You have the choice of a full breakfast (with 3 additional iteams),make your own breakfast (good for the kids), filled rolls,fresh juice,hot drinks.

The kids looking forward to going as the can bring there toys and play at the tabel while waiting on there food (carrigans provide pencils and paper for them if we ask)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family Friendly (til 7 ish)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Carrigans is an excellent place to visit for anyone, although having a child of seven, we find it very suitable! It's always busy & the staff are particularly well chosen (very friendly & happy at work, a lot of them appear to have been here forever, a good sign for the Family who own the establishment) Food never disappoints and is plentiful, portions are huge ! Book In Advance & Give It A Try.
Only downside is, sometimes parents who socialise with their children don't always want to be sent home between 7-7.30pm !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Visit 28-02-2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visited for dinner last night. It wasn't my first visit and it won't be my last either! Food fantastic as always, portions still massive! One word of advice, if you fancy a dessert, don't order a starter and a main, we did and had no chance at the dessert! Waitresses helpful and fast service. Overall, no complaints!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good was great, staff not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have eaten in carrigans many times and like a lot of people, I can't fault the portions of food if its good honest pub grub you're after. Nothing fancy but I knew what to expect and was happy with this, quality reflects the price (steak pie like your granny would make £8 ish) however I find the staff quite unfriendly and have felt this the last few times I have been. They seem so disinterested and huff and puff if you ask for anything out with your order, really is quite off putting. I was scared to ask for the desert menu! I realise this place is so popular but I think it's more to do with the loyalty of the local customers. Mr Carrigan beware, no matter how good the food is, if the staff have faces like torn pockets, people will be put off eventually!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Carrigan's Eating House also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to John Carrigan's Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Carrigan's Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.