We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Hamilton

Chiquito - Hamilton
Palace Towers, Hamilton ML3 6AD, Scotland
01698 456250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 95 Restaurants in Hamilton
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better than last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had been only once before and the service and food was pretty awful. However, I'm happy to say a return visit was much better than the first time around. Arrived and was sat in the almost empty restaurant after a few minutes wait and was given pretty bland popcorn to eat. Ordered a starter of nachos with beef which was pretty poor so immediately thought this was going to be a repeat of last time, however the main course chicken skewers were very tasty and a good size portion. The cocktails and drinks, while expensive at nearly £7 each, were very nice.

Our server wasn't amazing but was sufficient, atmosphere wasn't wonderful but the place was empty, the main course was great but the starter not so. The restaurant itself is quite small but very nicely decorated with comfortable seating. The best thing this place has going for it has to be the cocktails. Value for money wise it's very expensive and not necessarily value for money, but if they have any special lunch or dinner menu deals it may be worth a visit again - but they do need to master half decent nachos, it's the least a Mexican restaurant should be able to do right!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    24
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like all the rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staff were friendly, food was tasty but the drinks service was very slow. Atmosphere was upbeat with a mix of couples and families. For a pre cinema feed its ideal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammilton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have been to a number of Mexican restaurants in various countries but I keep going back to this one.
The food choice is very varied and is always excellent, and the service is also always excellent.
I will be going back again soon. If you are looking for Mexican food in South Lanarkshire, I recommend you try this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Snails pace is insulting to snails...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in on a last minute thing with a friend and were seated almost instantly by an exceptionally friendly lady who was polite, charming and thorough throughout, her service alone gets this place more than one star. Unfortunately that is where anything positive about this place ends.

The food was so slow I could of possibly cooked it myself on a spoon with a lighter quicker than who ever was running the kitchen that night. When the food came it was average but not the worst I had ever eaten but all in all it's not going on my "will go back" list.

If your pushed for somewhere to eat and don't mind waiting then go for it, but be warned you'll probably be drawing your pension by the time you leave.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went here tonight for dinner then we were going to go to the cinema. We ended up missing our movie as the food took so long to come out (we were there for about 2 hours and other tables who had been there less were served first). I wouldn't have minded missing the movie if the meal was good but the food was definitely below average. Potato skins that couldn't even be cut through they were so overcooked, chili con carne which just had no flavour to it whatsoever and my partners burger was dry and tasteless. Cost us £60 for the meal and was not worth it at all, pretty disappointed! The staff were nice though but that's the only nice thing I can say :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Hamilton also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Chiquito - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.