We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mushtaqs

Mushtaqs
154 Almada Street, Hamilton, Scotland
01698 42 00 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 95 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Food is delicious, and made of natural ingredients which is less fattening. There is only 7 curries to choose from, however are popular dishes that everyone would enjoy.
Service is great and always very willing.
Dont be put off with reviews below. Clearly they'd rather eat curries that have been lingering on a hot plate all day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    16
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was disappointed to see the staff empty chicken pieces into the dishes of curry sauce at the buffet. It just did not taste the same, the sauce just coated the meat it wasn't cooked into it and it could have been hotter (temp not spice). We also thought one naan between four was a bit stingy. Nothing to do with the staff but we couldn't hold a conversation for the noise from a table behind us and a baby crying at a table further down the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different Class!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fantastic! Was even given a tour of the massive spotless kitchen and watched my Naan bread being cooked fresh from the start.
Value for money as main courses are huge and 1 meal is enough for 2 people.
The owner takes pride in cleanliness and fresh natural ingredients unlike all the greasy competition.
Menu is a bit small and needs more variety but I loved what I had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awful - who can like this”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

If you want gas for a week and to run to the toilet this is the place for you. Choice is very limited. Service is poor. The curries are tasteless and mass produced with awful gravies.

It's is the first time I have ever had an undercooked nan bread !

I will never be back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went here tonight after hearing loads of people talk about how good it is.......wish I hadn't bothered....very disappointing and not cheap.....can't remember the last time I had an Indian meal that was so tasteless

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mushtaqs also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Mushtaqs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mushtaqs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.