We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hamilton

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Hamilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Hamilton
Roadchef Motorway Svc Area M74 Northbound, Hamilton ML36JW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hamilton
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and the hotel was fine; basic and clean with in-room amenities including tea and coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, television with freeview channels and extra pillows. As budget hotels go, Days Inn are among the best. The receptionist on our arrival - Sharon - was particularly helpful and the welcome was much appreciated after a long drive. If staying there, bear in mind that the hotel is on a motorway service area, so the shops and cafe there are handily close to the hotel, but they are typical of motorway services areas, ie pricey, noisy and busy. There is car parking at the hotel, but our Receptionist took note of our car reg on check-in and we did not incur any parking charges. (I note comments from another Reviewer about the road within the service area - yes, it is full of potholes and quite hazardous because of that). Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid stairs, ask for a ground floor room, though there may be more motorway service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the team here at the Days Inn Hamilton we do try to offer the best service under the sun.
Next time you choose to stay with us ask at reception about our 25% extra free breakfast and dinner vouchers we can provide you with for the Costa coffee or the Restbite in the roadchef building oposite to make get extra value for your money.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Days Inn Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
14
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's ok, looks a bit dated, very basic place inside a very basic service station. The road to the services is proper bumpy - maybe not down to the hotel but in a truck it was bumpy to say the least. Lady on reception was nice, in the absence of a bar, she told us where to walk for a drink - and it was surprisingly local. Not bad at all, but not spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank You for your kind words about the team here at the Days Inn we try to offer the best service under the sun.
We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a room with a sofa-bed for the kids. The room was clean and tidy and provided the basics i.e. tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, tv etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and the surrounding area of Hamilton was lovely. You can get to a park, a supermarket, a retail park, and a small playground within 10 minutes walk. On the negative side the double bed was not very comfortable and the windows didn't open wide enough to get any fresh air. Overall we had a very positive experience for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: The sofabed can sleep two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for review for the Days Inn Hamilton
We try to make sure our team provide the best customer service under the sun. Unfortunately all of our windows have restricters on the for the health and saftey of our guets and for your security thats why we try and provide a fan in every room at hotter times of the year.
We also have guests compliment us on the quality of our beds regularly so I am surprised you never slept very well.
We always welcome feedback from our guests and look forward to welcoming you again to the Days Inn Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this hotel through expedia as it offers free long stay parking and we were going on holiday for 4 days. Imagine our horror at discovering this was not free and cost us almost double again what we paid for our room to leave our car here while we were away. neither expedia nor Days inn have accepted liability for their website information which is wrong and misleading. The only good thing was the very helpful member of staff who did all she could to help us out - what a star - but what a stressful start to our holiday.

The roadchef services which I also mention here as I can't review them elsewhere were simply awful, we ate here off a table that you stuck to not a pleasant experience, the menu at 6.30pm was very limited and my husband was very disappointed that his chicken curry consisted of only six small bits of chicken swimming in a lot of sauce, picture attached. so if you are hungry - go elsewhere for food!!

Room Tip: contrary to what the website says long stay parking is NOT free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi
I'm sorry you experienced problems during your recent stay with us.
We offer free car parking to all our guests for the duration of there stay, we do not, on any of our advertising offer free long term car parking. As you had used a third party agent to make your reservation we cannot be responsible for any of the information they provide.
I have also spoken to the manager of the roadchef restbite next to the hotel and raised the problems that you had with your experience with them.
I am pleased to hear that the staff from the hotel that you dealt with was helpfull and tried to resolve your issues.
I hope that these problems you encountered have not put you off staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you to the days inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

doors banging all night . terrible uncomfortable bed .shower had no cold water so it was far 2 hot.. good point however nice breakfast bap for a fiver .stay at abbingdon its about 15 mins south but much better\\

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.
Had you contacted any of our team available 24 hours a day we would have tried to resolve your issues before you left the hotel.
I hope this has not put you of from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel staff really helpful, the beds are very comfortable and my rooms were cleaned and I had my towel changed every morning I had the rooms 17 and 31 and stayed there between 16 - 19 August, the only thing was a bit disappointing was the breakfast from Roadchef to expensive but that has nothing to do with the hotel and the hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Hamilton and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff very helpful.
Room clean and well equiped.
Service area alongside only fair.
Our room was at the south end and although we had expected this position to be noisy with departing lorries we did not find this to be a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms at from and North end quietist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed a good nights sleep as the majority of or guests tell us they do.
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hamilton

Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Area M74 Northbound, Hamilton ML36JW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Agoda, HotelsClick and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamilton Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.