We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for early morning flights with free parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel to your Saves list
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmarnock Road | Monkton, Prestwick KA9 2RJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for early morning flights with free parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011 via mobile

Room was large and clean, was definitely not luxurious but was comfortable for an early morning flight. Would stay again, free parking was excellent! Room only cost £29 for the night.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for one night because of early flight. I think reading the other reviews that the hotel must have been taken over 'cos it seemed totally the opposite. In fact if I had read the reviews B4 booking I wouldn't have bothered. Small mix up in restaurant when paying the bil as we ordered from the menu in room (Bar Menu - cheaper prices) but this was honured when paying, I think dining options should have been explained on arrival to save embarassment. Staff really friendly and very helpfull. Family room good size, no window to open ( patio doors that opened onto a flat roof locked, obvoiusly for safety ) but fan supplied. only thing didn't like was carpet in bathroom, never a good idea and decor in bathroom a little tired looking. General decor and cleanliness was to a high standard. Would stay again. Pricing structure seems to have changed so now parking is extra. Still a big Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

My partner and i stayed here after returning from a trip to paris.
We booked at the last minute late in the evening without any hassle.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room was very nice and well appointed.
Bed extremely comfortable.
The next morning they shuttled us to the train station free of charge.
Yes we did have to head up the road to another site to stay but it was the nicest we room with ensuite. Full wall mirrors also a plus!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

Booked here but like other reviewers was shunted on to absolutely dire accomodation (North Beach Hotel I believe - really just a doss house for workers in Indian restaurants). There would appear to be a cartel operating to rip off customers overnighting for the airport. Best use the Travel Lodge I guess

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st marten
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Friendly staff, warm welcome.. Stayed in a lovely room with a huge bed, with a massive plasma !! Excellent breakfast before being collected and taked the short drive to Prestwick airport. Lovely Hotel and very convinient.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Family of Five
Booking - DIFFICULT; average; easy
Location - isolated; rural; SUBURBAN; urban
Noise - LOUD; noisy; silent
Safety - dangerous; unsafe; SAFE; secure
Cleanliness - filthy; uncean; CLEAN; immaculate
Water Pressure - LESS THAN DESIRABLE; desirable; high
Reliability - dishonest; UNRELIABLE; reliable; trustworthy
Bathroom - xs; SMALL; medium; large; xl
Breakfast - bad; good; EXCELLENT
Comments - Similar to other reviewers, we didn't receive the room we booked. Booking on line wasn't possible for some reason, and the booking clerk refused to give a confirmation number via telephone (this should've been enough to steer us away). We booked a family room (double and three singles thru the Manor Park Hotel) but were given a double and two singles at the Muir house (" a sister hotel" less than a hundred yards away) upon arrival. The receptionist made no hint of an apology and refused to agree to a discount despite the lesser accommodation and proof of reservation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

Like most other customers of this hotel, we booked a room for a one night stay prior to our flight from Prestwick Airport early the next day.

The website gave the impression that all accommodation was in the hotel but when we arrived we were told that we were booked into the Manor Park, a sister hotel across the road.

When we got to the Manor Park we were told that it was full and we would be staying in the Old Course Hotel in Prestwick. However, we were told that we had to leave our car at Manor Park becasue the Old Course wasn't part of the same hotel group.

By the time we got to the Old Course the restaurant had closed and no food was available.

We found out that our experience was fairly typical and we were the second family to be moved around that evening.

The man on reception at Manor Park was pleasant and smiled thoughout the time that he gave us the bad news.

We felt conned by the website and we didn't get the service that we paid for.

Take my advice, use the Travel Lodge up the road.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel

Address: Kilmarnock Road | Monkton, Prestwick KA9 2RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muirhouse Hotel Country
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel Prestwick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.